Fabulous Football Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I did not care for this recipe. My husband and I both love cream cheese so I thought that this would taste amazing. But the consistency was thick and the cream cheese flavor was overwhelming. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aubrey, Texas, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I got this recipe from my mother-in-law. Except the ingredients have to be very specific for it to turn out fabulous. Jimmy Deans Hot Sausage Philadelphia Cream Cheese Rotel (Medium) Brown the sausage. Drain. Then put all of it in a crock pot. It melts and melds all together instead of frying on the stove. It's to die for. The hot sausage and medium Rotel (tomatoes and green chilies) give it the perfect little kick! Not too much though. Dip with simple white tortillas. Note: you can definitely add more of one ingredient if preference calls for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Yes but we use the Sausage that come in a roll, and we add just 1 8oz whipped cream cheese, one can of petite diced tomatoes, and 1 8oz sour cream. I brown sausage, add the other ingredients let it heat through then add to a small crock pot and serve with frito or other scoops. Always addicting to anyone who tries it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Barrington

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sun City Center, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I make this often but I add two cans of Rotel instead of just one. Sometimes I add one can of black beans well drained and sliced black olives. It depends on your taste. I always add a tsp. of ground cumin to add to the spice. Everyone always enjoys this dip with taco chips. After browning the sausage just put everything into a crock pot on low and forget about it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I've not met one person that doesn't love this dip. The only changes I make to it are what a lot of the other reviewers are saying. You need to add more spice to the recipe. Then use a small crock pot. Easiest way to add more spice to the recipe is to use HOT italian sausage. Brown the sausage & then put everything in a small crock pot. That easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I've been making something similar to this for the last 20 years. However I make mine a little differently. Besides the cream cheese I use an equal amount of sour cream as well. That keeps it from being too thick. For the sausage I use mild, but the maple flavored sausage is quite a nice change, too. I use a can of Rotel, but I use the mild. I do not like spicy foods so I've used mild on everything. However you can always use the hotter versions of sausage and Rotel if you like that sort of thing. This dip always gets scarfed down quickly no matter where I take it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This is SO good!! Definitely a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This dip is really good. Question - does it need to be served hot and remain hot ( in a little crockpot) or can it cool and still be safe for guests?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This was good but really, really salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
My friends and I have been making this dip for years but we call it 3-2-1 Dip because we use 3 packages of cream cheese, 2 cans of Rot-tel and 1lb hot breakfast sausage. Throw it all in the crock pot on high for about 15 mins to melt the cream cheese, mix it around and then reduce the heat to low/warm. If you're lucky enough to have left-overs, it's good reheated in the mic. I just took this to my dinner club's annual After-Christmas White Elephant party and had to give out the recipe to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

BLT Dip

Chopped crispy bacon and fresh tomato mix it up with creamy sour cream and mayo.

Loaded Baked Potato Dip

See how to make a creamy, bacony dip shaped like a football.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States