Fabulous Foolproof Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
SOO GOOD. Our family has been making the same recipe for lasagna for the past 10 years and I think we may have just found the replacement. Never going back to ground beef again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I've been making lasagna this way for years. What I do different is: add 1 lb of ground beef along with the sausage, I use the big container (I think 32oz) of ricotta cheese, at least 16 oz of Mozz. cheese and 1 1/2 to 2 (32 oz) jars of sauce. We like it meaty, cheesey and saucy!! Oh and use a deeper pan sprayed real good with non stick cooking spray. Everybody loves it and nobody knows that the noodles where not cooked beforehand!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This turned out very nice and the kids I was feeding all had seconds. The only thing I did different was use more sauce (the only sauce I had on hand was a 26 oz. can)and I'm glad I did because I think it would have been too dry otherwise. The noodles came out great - nice and tender - not cruchy at all. Oh, and I used 1/2 italian sausage and 1/2 lean ground beef because I think the flavor of italian sausage it too overpowering. It had just the right amount of flavor. Over all it was a pretty easy recipe to make for a lasagne recipe. Will probably use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesa Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I always try to follow a new, rated recipe exactly as written the first time, especially for reviews. I did exactly that except for using my own sauce for this one. My opinion? far too much thyme (may try a little rosemary next time), much too little ricotta mix, too little sauce, and although the sausage, which is what drew me to this recipe in the first place, sounded great, I agree with another reviewer that much of the seasoning needed is in the sausage. I would suggest getting a good quality Italian sausage, and be very sure to keep it well crumbled while cooking, as it tends to clump with the amount of fat in it. I would also use a smaller pan and make it into 5 layers instead of 3. (again more ricotta!) Definitely use a homemade, or favorite locally Italian made sauce. We have had a very successful and large Italian restaurant for over 50 yrs, all with our Italian family cooks, and I can guarantee a basic homemade sauce would be better than any jar you could buy at the supermarket! Sorry for the lack of enthusiasm on this one. I may try my own version sometime in the future, but I'm left still hungry after just finishing my dinner. Basic idea could be imrpoved upon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This ia a very tasty Lasagna, I did use the noodles I had to boil, cuz I needed them up.Had it for 2 dinners, and 1 lunch and I even cut the recipe in half, but there is just 2 of us. Great recipe, try it you well love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I made this for dinner tonight. I used my homemade spaghetti sauce instead of store bought. Easy and very tastey. My daughter even liked it and she is not a lasagna eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raighne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
it was so good I put 2 jars sauce and 16oz cheese ,I also added fresh sauteed spinach ,it came out perfect and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Agree with others, needs WAY more sauce. It was really easy and could have been yummy but ended up too dry even when I put more sauce than called for. But worth a second shot for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I make a similar recipe, except I use 1 lb of hamburger and I use cottage cheese instead of ricotto. My four year old eats it for leftovers even. It is always a hit and so simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Okay, this is a secret, so don't tell anyone: Instead of just mozarella cheese, use a few deli slices of provolone and/or swiss. They add more flavor and stringyness. Also, mix most of the parmesan with the ricotta. It adds the salt it needs. Don't forget parsley. Try sauted onions and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States