Fabulous Foolproof Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Good basic lasagna recipe. Definitely use more sauce than suggested - I usually use at least 2 jars. A hint when using no-boil noodles to keep them from being crunchy or gummy: coat the bottom of the pan with sauce BEFORE you lay the noodles in the pan. I also mix the sausage (or beef or turkey) in with the sauce and always place the sauce on the noodle layer. It's the sauce that gets absorbed by the noodles and cooks them (hence why you need plenty of sauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
501 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
This was simple and very good. A suggestion for "empty-nesters": It's just my hubby and I, so when I make lasagne, I use 4 9 x 5 foil loaf pans. I put some sauce on the bottom, 1 no-boil noodle, and continue layering, using 3 noodles per loaf pan. Bake one, and freeze the rest. When you want to fix on of the frozen ones, put in in the fridge the night before. And for those who had trouble with the no-boil noodles, if you let them soak for a few minutes in hot water it will solve the problem. Still a lot simpler and faster than boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
438 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Ok, you won't want to believe this..i didn't either until I tried it myself. Use any of your fav lasagna noodles. They do NOT have to be labeled no-boil. I use any i want and you don't have to use xtra sauce -- they'll be cooked. Try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
The directions do not call for enough sauce. You will need to add more. I can't tell you how much more because that is based on personal preference. Overall the recipe came out tasting alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I thought this was so close to mine, that I had to try it. It was very good, but for me, I needed more. First of all, I don't understand why people pay that extra price for the "no boil" noodles. Regular lasagna noodles work just fine. I don't even place them in a bowl of hot water. Just place some sauce in the bottom of pan and lay noodles (not touching) to make room for growth. Then I added hamburger, to the sausage, and cottage cheese, black olives and spinach to the cheese mix. I always mix the four cheeses, and an egg or two, with the drained spinach and black olives and cheeses. Then I mix the sauce with the hamburger and sausage. Then I only have one bowl & one pan to clean up. I too needed extra sauce. Sometimes I make my own, (if I have all day, as the sauce does need to simmer for at least 3 or 4 hours) I layer sauce, noodles, cheese mix, more sauce, noodles and keep on going until all is gone. then top with lots of mozzarella. Cover and bake until really bubbly, and remove cover and cook some more for about 15 minutes to get the cheese cooked. I personally like the cheese a bit crunchy. GREAT recipe. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie4222

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
My family loved it! Again added a little something to it! Cooked the noodles first just because I've had no luck with the no boil type. Also I added about 4 cloves of minced garlic to the meat as it browned for flavor. I added 1 box of thawed frozed spinach squeezed dry on top of one layer of ricotta (just to sneak in vitamins). I ended up using a bottle and a half of marinara sauce and extra mozzarrella. All in all very yummy and easy. Made enough for many left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Just like the title states, this lasagna is fabulous and foolproof! I added more cheese, more sauce, and made a layer of fresh spinach in the center. I didn't have any problems with the no-boil noodles... they were perfect! I baked mine a bit longer (45 minutes with foil, 15 without).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
Make sure you completely cover the noodles with sauce before baking to will keep them from getting crunchy. And, I often use more sauce than the recipe calls for. It just depends on your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPACIESTACIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marshall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
I really liked this recipe. I thought it was pretty easy, and it's my first lasagna. I used more sauce, like the other reviewers suggested, and covered the noodles completely, and it came out great! Thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
A rare event was having all the ingredients on hand including the ricotta which hubby mistakenly purchased instead of the "cottage cheese" which was on his grocery list. Lucky us! Then, something to feed 3 starving kids after an afternoon of swimming lessons and pool cavorting, this was an answer to a prayer. Enough leftover for a nice serving for Hubby's lunch the next day. Fast, easy, and delicious. Can't ask for more. Many thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernGma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States