Fabulous Foolproof Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I thought this was so close to mine, that I had to try it. It was very good, but for me, I needed more. First of all, I don't understand why people pay that extra price for the "no boil" noodles. Regular lasagna noodles work just fine. I don't even place them in a bowl of hot water. Just place some sauce in the bottom of pan and lay noodles (not touching) to make room for growth. Then I added hamburger, to the sausage, and cottage cheese, black olives and spinach to the cheese mix. I always mix the four cheeses, and an egg or two, with the drained spinach and black olives and cheeses. Then I mix the sauce with the hamburger and sausage. Then I only have one bowl & one pan to clean up. I too needed extra sauce. Sometimes I make my own, (if I have all day, as the sauce does need to simmer for at least 3 or 4 hours) I layer sauce, noodles, cheese mix, more sauce, noodles and keep on going until all is gone. then top with lots of mozzarella. Cover and bake until really bubbly, and remove cover and cook some more for about 15 minutes to get the cheese cooked. I personally like the cheese a bit crunchy. GREAT recipe. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Norman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
AMAZING!!! This is the easiest and tastiest lasagna I've ever had. It's the first one I've found that wasn't dry. I added more cottage cheese/mozzarella for the filling because it didn't seem like enough to cover the layers. I also think 1 1/2 lbs of meat is better than 1lb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This was the best lasagna I have ever had. I doubled the sauce and doubled the cheese. I cooked it for a total of 65 minutes, instead of 45. I wanted to be sure the noodles were extra done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This was the best lasagna I've ever had. It was very hearty and stayed together very well. I assembled it completely then froze it until a later date. I left it out to defrost a few hours the day I was going to cook it and then baked it as directed. My kids and hubby loved it! Will definitely use this recipe for my go-to lasagna recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
the flavor was good, but something was off as far as amounts i had to triple the sauce and cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Definately needs more sauce. I ended up using two and half jars of sauce, which was perfect. I've used the no-boil noodles three times so far and I've never had any problems. I always make sure the noodles are completely covered in cheese/sauce. (I also increased the cook time by 10 mins)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I followed this exactly but used lightlifes vegetarian sausage instead. I also used noodles I boiled and a jar and half of sauce. I thought it could of used more spices and I might add some spinach ton it next time. Thank you for getting me started.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LivinOurLuvSong

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
My family loves this recipe!!!I even do a veggy lasagna and it turns out yummy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This recipe was way off as far as ingredients. It needed more of everything...sauce, meat, ricotta mixture, etc. Luckily I read other reviews and bought 2 16 oz. jars of spaghetti sauce but I didn't buy extra of anything else. If I make this again, I will use the ingredients as listed but use a smaller casserole dish. I used whole-wheat lasagna noodles and cooked them first but, other than that, I used the ingredients listed in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ronalyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
All in all this was a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States