Fabulous Foolproof Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I never boil my noodles I soak them in warm water until they bend. This way they won't soak up all of the sauce. It even works well for pinwheels. For those of us who watch portion control pinwheels are a great way to not over do it. Any lasagna recipe will do, meat sauce or plain sauce on the outside, cheesy goodness on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Trumansburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Great Recipe! Thanks to the members for telling us that regular noodles work the same as no bake noodles. It will save me some money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Really good recipe here. My points: 1)You may use any lasagna noodles--not just the ones labeled "oven ready." 2)You will need more sauce than called for 3) Put sauce on the bottom of the pan first, before the noodles, so they don't burn/crunch up 4) I did half & half ground chuck and sausage in mine. Delicio! Really a very good base recipe for a lasagna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Yep, it's TRUE. You can use ANY lasagna noodle, does NOT have to say no-boil. A long time ago I asked a chef friend of mine how the lasagna in restaurants are nice and firm and at home it gets soupy? He told me not to cook the noodles! Been doing it for years. Great time saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
EASY AND TASTES GREAT!!! My family doesn't like the sausage so I added pepperoni and ground beef to my sauce. We take salads for lunch everyday to work, so by the end of the week, we add all the left over fresh veggies to the lasagna and end up with a fabulous Friday night dinner. Spinach, bell peppers, green onions, shredded carrots, anything you want! Thank you, Chefstacie for sharing your fabulous recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Just follow the recipe on the back of the Barilla No Boil Lasagna - no need to add the seasonings - it's in the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staunton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Tried this recipe today, using 1 package of chopped spinach. Also added ground fennel to the ground turkey (instead of sausage). I did not mix the sauce with the meat. Baked for 50 minutes at 375, then five at 425. Be sure to tuck the edges into the sauce halfway through the baking process (to keep them from drying out). I also added two tablespoons of water to the pan of lasagna before I baked it. Double the mozzarella cheese; asiago is a good substitute for the parmesan. I used an over-sized, pyrex dish, approx 10" by 15. The recipe expanded to fit the dish, was easy to serve. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I thought this was so close to mine, that I had to try it. It was very good, but for me, I needed more. First of all, I don't understand why people pay that extra price for the "no boil" noodles. Regular lasagna noodles work just fine. I don't even place them in a bowl of hot water. Just place some sauce in the bottom of pan and lay noodles (not touching) to make room for growth. Then I added hamburger, to the sausage, and cottage cheese, black olives and spinach to the cheese mix. I always mix the four cheeses, and an egg or two, with the drained spinach and black olives and cheeses. Then I mix the sauce with the hamburger and sausage. Then I only have one bowl & one pan to clean up. I too needed extra sauce. Sometimes I make my own, (if I have all day, as the sauce does need to simmer for at least 3 or 4 hours) I layer sauce, noodles, cheese mix, more sauce, noodles and keep on going until all is gone. then top with lots of mozzarella. Cover and bake until really bubbly, and remove cover and cook some more for about 15 minutes to get the cheese cooked. I personally like the cheese a bit crunchy. GREAT recipe. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie4222

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
AMAZING!!! This is the easiest and tastiest lasagna I've ever had. It's the first one I've found that wasn't dry. I added more cottage cheese/mozzarella for the filling because it didn't seem like enough to cover the layers. I also think 1 1/2 lbs of meat is better than 1lb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This was the best lasagna I have ever had. I doubled the sauce and doubled the cheese. I cooked it for a total of 65 minutes, instead of 45. I wanted to be sure the noodles were extra done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States