Fabulous Foolproof Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Have to agree with some others that this was way too dry for our taste and I used a 26oz. jar of sauce. Added onion and a clove of garlic as well as subbed ground beef for sausage as that is our preference. Good taste overall and very easy. I will make again, but will use 2 jars of sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Delicious! Instead of using sausage I used ground lamb (which I browned with chopped garlic), and I also used a 24 oz jar of spaghetti sauce. I also put it in the oven for 45 minutes covered, and 15 uncovered. This was my first time making lasagna and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat H

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
SOO GOOD. Our family has been making the same recipe for lasagna for the past 10 years and I think we may have just found the replacement. Never going back to ground beef again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I've been making lasagna this way for years. What I do different is: add 1 lb of ground beef along with the sausage, I use the big container (I think 32oz) of ricotta cheese, at least 16 oz of Mozz. cheese and 1 1/2 to 2 (32 oz) jars of sauce. We like it meaty, cheesey and saucy!! Oh and use a deeper pan sprayed real good with non stick cooking spray. Everybody loves it and nobody knows that the noodles where not cooked beforehand!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This turned out very nice and the kids I was feeding all had seconds. The only thing I did different was use more sauce (the only sauce I had on hand was a 26 oz. can)and I'm glad I did because I think it would have been too dry otherwise. The noodles came out great - nice and tender - not cruchy at all. Oh, and I used 1/2 italian sausage and 1/2 lean ground beef because I think the flavor of italian sausage it too overpowering. It had just the right amount of flavor. Over all it was a pretty easy recipe to make for a lasagne recipe. Will probably use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesa Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I always try to follow a new, rated recipe exactly as written the first time, especially for reviews. I did exactly that except for using my own sauce for this one. My opinion? far too much thyme (may try a little rosemary next time), much too little ricotta mix, too little sauce, and although the sausage, which is what drew me to this recipe in the first place, sounded great, I agree with another reviewer that much of the seasoning needed is in the sausage. I would suggest getting a good quality Italian sausage, and be very sure to keep it well crumbled while cooking, as it tends to clump with the amount of fat in it. I would also use a smaller pan and make it into 5 layers instead of 3. (again more ricotta!) Definitely use a homemade, or favorite locally Italian made sauce. We have had a very successful and large Italian restaurant for over 50 yrs, all with our Italian family cooks, and I can guarantee a basic homemade sauce would be better than any jar you could buy at the supermarket! Sorry for the lack of enthusiasm on this one. I may try my own version sometime in the future, but I'm left still hungry after just finishing my dinner. Basic idea could be imrpoved upon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This ia a very tasty Lasagna, I did use the noodles I had to boil, cuz I needed them up.Had it for 2 dinners, and 1 lunch and I even cut the recipe in half, but there is just 2 of us. Great recipe, try it you well love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I made this for dinner tonight. I used my homemade spaghetti sauce instead of store bought. Easy and very tastey. My daughter even liked it and she is not a lasagna eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raighne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
it was so good I put 2 jars sauce and 16oz cheese ,I also added fresh sauteed spinach ,it came out perfect and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Agree with others, needs WAY more sauce. It was really easy and could have been yummy but ended up too dry even when I put more sauce than called for. But worth a second shot for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States