Fabulous Fargozas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
As always, reviews are largely a matter of personal opinion, and in my opinion these Fargozas weren't so Fabulous. First, I eliminated the sugar as I believe it would have competed with the savory ingredients in this muffin. But more than that, let's just say I made and tasted these muffins a few hours ago and I still have an incredibly potent and unpleasant garlic aftertaste in my mouth. I will warn Hubs to stay a foot away from me. Frankly, they were also a little heavy on the rosemary too. A subtle hint of both would have made this a much better muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
These were a really nice and quick muffin to make with our potato soup. The footnotes indicated other cheeses that could be used, I was out of mozzarella and opted for the cheddar. Also had some chopped jalapenos for added zing. I did cut the sugar down to 2 TBSPS and most likely will do without it altogether next time. I didn't care for the sweetness which seemed to be very prevalent right out of the oven. The next day they didn't seem as sweet though. All in all pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Excellent prepared with shredded pepperjack cheese & cooked crumbled bacon along side a cream based soup. We will be having them next with cream of green chile (poblano or anaheim) soup. Some sugar is needed in the recipe to help with browning the muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I made these last night, exactly followed the recipe, and they were fabulous. A nice savory muffin. Froze a half dozen. Could be very addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
A fantastic savory muffin. I made them to go with a batch of homemade turkey/veggie soup. I made a few slight modifications: used onion powder instead of fresh (about 1 tsp maybe more), garlic powder instead of fresh (1/2 tsp.), and ground rosemary (cut to 1 tsp b/c the ground stuff is so strong) For the cheese, I used a Italian shredded blend (it was mozzarella, asiago, provolone, etc). But I stayed true the recipe. This is a great recipe. Mine baked in 22 minutes directly in the tin (no liners). The result was a nice golden brown "crust" all around the muffin and tender moist interior. YUM! Kids and adults loved it. Will definitely make these again! Thanks for the wonderful muffin recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I wasn't too keen on the sugar in this recipe, so I left it out as other reviewers had, with success. I also used 50/50 whole wheat and all purpose flours. This is a beautiful, savory muffin recipe. Best warm out of the oven with a drizzle of melted butter over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I made these for work. I was thinking it needed a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I agree with Judi, these are fabuous. I made recipe as listed with no changes. I will amke again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Very good for breakfast. The only change I made was to saute the onion with the garlic for a little milder taste. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Loved these without adding the sugar. I also included some chopped up fresh spinach, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Wet Burritos

Seasoned beef-and-bean burritos smothered with enchilada sauce.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States