Fabulous Fargozas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
These really are Fabulous! I made them with the Chunky Potato Soup from this site. And they go together very well. The strong flavor of these little muffins was perfect with the creamy soup flavor. I had a hard time finding this recipe again. Don't hesitate to add it to your recipe box! I followed the recipe and they are Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
We loved the intense rosemary flavor. These made the house smell wonderful! I substituted half whole wheat flour, cheddar instead of mozzarella, and reduced the sugar by 1Tbs. They were plenty golden at 19 minutes when I pulled them out. I think they would have been overdone had they gone longer. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
as really good. I only had ground rosemary, not the dried "stemmy" rosemary, so I used 2 teaspoons instead of a tablespoon and it was still too much. Next time I'll use one teaspoon - still very good and I will make them again! Thanks for a new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Excellent. I only used a couple teaspoons of sugar, 1 tsp rosemary, 1 tsp onion powder, and 1/2 tsp garlic powder. I made them with mild cheddar to go with our potato soup, and they were loved by everyone. They were good reheated the next day as well. I will be making these again. Thanks for an awesome different recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Yum, yum! Now I admit I have never had a fargoza before, so do not have anything to compare this to, but as far as I am concerned, these were fantastic. Having had experience with a harsh garlic taste when raw garlic is just dumped into a batter, I sauteed the onion and garlic in olive oil until wilted, which mellowed the flavor a bit (they still had plenty of onion and garlic flavor - just not as "harsh"). I also decreased the sugar to 1 tsp (based on other reviews) and subbed olive oil for the melted butter. Oh, and I did not add any additional salt - the salt in the cheese was plenty for our tastes. I did not find the rosemary flavor to be too strong - in fact, next time I make these I may add a tad more (depends on my mood and what I will be serving these with). I served these with minestrone (Jaime's, from this site, with vegan italian sausage substitute added) and green salad - a hearty and flavorful meal for a snowy, wintery day. Thank you Judi for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
REALLY yummy! I was impressed with how good they are, as was my husband. :-) (Don't use cupcake wrappers with them though; the cheese makes them really stick!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Farnborough, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
These muffins were wonderful right out of the oven! There were none left over, but I was curious how they might taste the next day. I did saute the onion and garlic in a bit of olive oil first, before adding with the wet ingredients. I also did 1/4 of the flour as whole wheat and next time might increase that to 1/2. Not sure if they will get too dry? I will also try again by replacing the rosemary with oregano or basil some time or try a version with green chiles, cheddar and bacon. It's a great recipe with lots of possibilities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I made these for dinner tonight -- exactly as written but with fresh rosemary instead of dried -- and these have to be among the BEST muffins I have ever made. And I have made some great ones, I am a baker with over fifty years experience! I would be proud to serve this to anyone! Excellent recipe, breakfast, lunch or dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
These are really, really good. I used buttermilk and they were a bit dry, so I ended up adding about 3 1/2 cups of buttermilk. The taste was really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nita Ostroff

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ridgeley, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
These were delicious! I made these tonight instead of buying garlic bread and I'm so glad I did. I did halve the amount of rosemary and used garlic & onion powder. These came out soft on the inside, a nice crust on the outside, and quite flavorful. They would have been more flavorful with the original ingredients, but the more mild flavor made them a hit with my 15-month old. Can't wait to make these again and experiment with different cheese and spice combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Wet Burritos

Seasoned beef-and-bean burritos smothered with enchilada sauce.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States