Fabulous Fargozas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
These really are Fabulous! I made them with the Chunky Potato Soup from this site. And they go together very well. The strong flavor of these little muffins was perfect with the creamy soup flavor. I had a hard time finding this recipe again. Don't hesitate to add it to your recipe box! I followed the recipe and they are Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
We loved the intense rosemary flavor. These made the house smell wonderful! I substituted half whole wheat flour, cheddar instead of mozzarella, and reduced the sugar by 1Tbs. They were plenty golden at 19 minutes when I pulled them out. I think they would have been overdone had they gone longer. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
as really good. I only had ground rosemary, not the dried "stemmy" rosemary, so I used 2 teaspoons instead of a tablespoon and it was still too much. Next time I'll use one teaspoon - still very good and I will make them again! Thanks for a new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Excellent. I only used a couple teaspoons of sugar, 1 tsp rosemary, 1 tsp onion powder, and 1/2 tsp garlic powder. I made them with mild cheddar to go with our potato soup, and they were loved by everyone. They were good reheated the next day as well. I will be making these again. Thanks for an awesome different recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Yum, yum! Now I admit I have never had a fargoza before, so do not have anything to compare this to, but as far as I am concerned, these were fantastic. Having had experience with a harsh garlic taste when raw garlic is just dumped into a batter, I sauteed the onion and garlic in olive oil until wilted, which mellowed the flavor a bit (they still had plenty of onion and garlic flavor - just not as "harsh"). I also decreased the sugar to 1 tsp (based on other reviews) and subbed olive oil for the melted butter. Oh, and I did not add any additional salt - the salt in the cheese was plenty for our tastes. I did not find the rosemary flavor to be too strong - in fact, next time I make these I may add a tad more (depends on my mood and what I will be serving these with). I served these with minestrone (Jaime's, from this site, with vegan italian sausage substitute added) and green salad - a hearty and flavorful meal for a snowy, wintery day. Thank you Judi for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
REALLY yummy! I was impressed with how good they are, as was my husband. :-) (Don't use cupcake wrappers with them though; the cheese makes them really stick!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Farnborough, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
These muffins were wonderful right out of the oven! There were none left over, but I was curious how they might taste the next day. I did saute the onion and garlic in a bit of olive oil first, before adding with the wet ingredients. I also did 1/4 of the flour as whole wheat and next time might increase that to 1/2. Not sure if they will get too dry? I will also try again by replacing the rosemary with oregano or basil some time or try a version with green chiles, cheddar and bacon. It's a great recipe with lots of possibilities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I made these for dinner tonight -- exactly as written but with fresh rosemary instead of dried -- and these have to be among the BEST muffins I have ever made. And I have made some great ones, I am a baker with over fifty years experience! I would be proud to serve this to anyone! Excellent recipe, breakfast, lunch or dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
These are really, really good. I used buttermilk and they were a bit dry, so I ended up adding about 3 1/2 cups of buttermilk. The taste was really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nita Ostroff

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ridgeley, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
These were delicious! I made these tonight instead of buying garlic bread and I'm so glad I did. I did halve the amount of rosemary and used garlic & onion powder. These came out soft on the inside, a nice crust on the outside, and quite flavorful. They would have been more flavorful with the original ingredients, but the more mild flavor made them a hit with my 15-month old. Can't wait to make these again and experiment with different cheese and spice combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Wet Burritos

Seasoned beef-and-bean burritos smothered with enchilada sauce.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States