Fabulous Cilantro Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
This is excellent, easy, and quick. The cayenne gives it a nice bite. I forgot the olive oil and was wondering why it was so clumpy, well, there's the answer. Don't be like me. Put in the olive oil. Amazingly enough, we ran out of parmesan cheese so I subbed mozzarella and used almonds instead of pecans or walnuts. Very good taste, with the cilantro flavor coming through nicely. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I adore cilantro and usually use it to excess, but I just had to fiddle so much with this recipe to get a flavor my husband or I would eat. I did love the idea of it, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Ok, I made this before the way it's printed here and it was awesome. So I had cilantro and wanted to make it again but didn't have all the stuff, so I got creative. I used raw almonds and swiss instead of walnuts and parmesan, and ground red pepper instead of cayenne (subtler, to fit the subtler nuts and cheese), and lemon juice for vinegar. It was interesting. Just as good I think, and it had this unique "clean" quality to the taste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBORG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Incredible recipe! I left out the vinegar (seemed weird) and the cheese (I'm vegan), but would HIGHLY recommend keeping the walnuts. Walnuts are one of the Super Foods and this is a great way to get some into your diet, plus they add a wonderfully earthy taste to the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Well I had high hopes for this but it was WAY too hot for us. My son wouldn't eat it and my husband just didn't like the flavors. I thought it was OK and I liked that it had a very fresh taste to it. We added chicken to make it a meal. Not one I'll make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
This dish was yummy and very easy to make! I used pine nuts and lime juice instead of the white wine vinegar. For the pasta I used fresh cheese tortellini. Will definitely make again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I used lime juice instead of white wine vinegar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petrika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I was honestly blown away by this recipe. I wasn't sure if I would like the cilantro but it came out very very nicely. I actually didn't have any nuts (something I realized only after I had put everything else together) but it still tasted great. I also added some pan fried shrimp. The only change I would make is next time I think I would wait until I stirred the noodles in with the sauce to add the parmesan because when it melted the cilantro clumped all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
So good. I have to make this all the time from now on, because I'm addicted. I was kind of teetering on the edge of cilantro acceptance, and this recipe gave me the shove I needed. The taste of the cilantro wasn't overpowering like I thought it might be. All of the proportions were perfect; it wasn't too oily, too garlicky, or too..um, cilantro-y. The only thing I tweaked was the cayenne. I didn't have any, so I stuck some crushed red pepper flakes in the magic bullet and processed until they were mostly powdery. I think that probably made it slightly spicier than it would've been if I'd used cayenne, but some reviewers said it needed extra spice anyway, so hey! It all worked out, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This is a very nice recipe. I know someone commented on the use of pine nuts versus walnuts or pecans, in my home I rarely have pine nuts on hand, however I always have walnuts and or pecans. I always appreciate ease of use when it comes to a recipe. I used an Italian dressing in place of the white wine vinegar and tossed some cooked shrimp in at the end. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseJanice

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pesto

Watch how to make this top-rated pesto recipe.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Barilla® Spaghetti with Mixed Nut Pesto

A simple mixed nut pesto pairs perfectly with nutty whole grain spaghetti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States