Fabulous Cilantro Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This is a great recipe!! We recommend pine nuts instead of walnuts/pecans. We also recommend not using the entire amount of olive oil. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I didn't need as much Olive Oil as called for and made a bit less pasta so there was some left for bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Very easy and tasted great. Used a mix of pine nuts and pecans, and added some sun-dried tomatoes. Loved by all! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Very good, but the garlic is a little too intense. I love garlic, but I just felt like it overpowered the cilantro a bit too much. This would be a great spread for bruschetta though! Mmmm! I will definitely make it again, just with less garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
very good but doesn't taste much like cilantro at all. the garlic takes the lead in the taste of this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
A nice change for pesto. I wasn't sure about the combination of cilantro and parm. cheese and walnuts, but it actually works. I used whole wheat pasta, omitted the pepper, added a few tablespoons of lime juice and used less olive oil for a chunkier pesto. Just be careful not to use too much cilantro, or else it becomes bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This was allright. I guess I prefer classic basil pesto.... Don't get me wrong... this was good, just not great (or something I'd make again). My fiance agrees. We both felt that the end product was terribly dry (this recipe calls for waaay too much pasta, IMHO). Additionally, I felt that the cayenne was out of place. While I like the kick it imparted, I found it unnecessary and a tad odd for my liking. Tossed with whole wheat penne, this was an average, yet filling meal. I must admit, this was quite easy to prepare and economical to boot (cilantro is REALLY cheap compared to basil). I'm glad I tried this, but will stick to the "real" thing from now on. Thanks for sharing your unique idea though, Gena :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I like the amount of garlic, but I'm a garlic lover (and used small cloves). I didn't have any nuts, so I just omitted them; and it turned out fine. Same with the Parmesan--I put in a little chicken bouillon as a substitute. I probably only put in half of the olive oil and added some water to keep the fat down, which didn't cause any problems. I threw some ground turkey into the sauce & let it cook on the stove a little, which turned out surprisingly well (though chopped chicken would probably be best). I added some chunks of avocado at the end, which was delicious :) A great, economic recipe...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I used pine nuts, and lime juice instead of vinegar. I liked this recipe although 5 cloves of garlic is WAY too strong. My husband took one bite and said that the amount of garlic was burning his mouth. He wouldn't eat anymore so now I've just wasted 1 lb of pasta. I would think 2 cloves of garlic is enough, especially since you're eating it raw. This is the first time I've made pesto with cilantro though and am pleased that there are other alternatives to basil based pesto which can be more expensive. Maybe next time I'll try the walnuts or pecans since they're cheaper than pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Pretty good. I also subbed pine nuts for the kind called for. Next time I will use lime juice instead of vinegar. Otherwise, somewhat bland. Maybe I needed to add salt or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by casedilla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto

Watch how to make this top-rated pesto recipe.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States