Fabulous Cilantro Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Like others, I changed a few things. I didn't add cheese, or pasta. I used 1/2 TBSP vinegar and 1/2 TBSP white wine. I used shelled seeds from a few butternut squashes I've used in recent weeks and saved up instead of walnuts or pecans. I also added a pinch of black pepper and used sea salt (just a pinch). I stored the finished product in an ice cube tray for individual servings/storage. My gosh this stuff's good. I've been eating it lightly spread on unbreaded chicken burgers with grilled vegetables, and it's truly a wonderful pesto. The cayenne's lovely in the mix. I can't wait to try other applications with the pesto, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
If you like cilantro this is a recipe for you! I made and froze it. It has been added to tortilla soup, spread on chicken breasts before grilling, added to pasta, and mixed with sauteed peppers and onions for fajitas. WOW!! So versatile that I made more to experiment with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Yum! And so easy. I live in Korea and cilantro is hard to come by, but a nice Canadian knew that my Californian self would appreciate some cilantro from the big city so I had a bunch. For my taste, I'll prob cut the garlic a bit the next time I make it, but I LOVED it. I put it over rice noodles. I will try it over chicken, too. Thank you for the very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Yum - loved this pesto! Made mine with walnuts and fresh lime juice...can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Since the cilantro was taking over the garden, I was looking for a good way to use it. This is it. I think i like it better than basil pesto. Grow, cilantro grow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andy a.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This was delish! But the garlic was really powerful. I think it can be scaled down to three cloves. My hubby loved this on the pasta, but I think it would be better on crusty bread. Next time, as I have LOTS of fresh cilantro to use from my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Made this recipe exactly as its written and I LOVED it! The only thing I will do different next time is less Cayenne b/c I found it too hot. Otherwise, its a great alternative to regular basil pesto which costs so much more to make. Cilantro Pesto for me from now on! Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I made this with macadamia nuts. Soooo good. I put it on grilled tilapia, and then ate it on tortilla chips when I ran out of fish. This will be a summer staple for sure! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSBEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This recipe was super delicious after I altered it a bit. I used about 2/3 cup of olive oil, lemon juice instead of vinegar, added about half a small can of green chile, onion powder, less than a pound of the pasta, heaping 1/2 teaspoon of the cayenne and skipped the nuts. Turned out awesomely spicy! My picky eaters loved it! I even added chopped jalapeno to mine because I love spicy food. Add a little grilled or pulled rotisserie chicken to top it off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pesto

Watch how to make this top-rated pesto recipe.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States