Fabulous Cilantro Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2004
Delicious! I have been wanting to make pesto forever and was so glad to find this recipe. I used a whole bunch of cilantro, plus about 1/2 cup loose parsley leaves and about 1/4 cup loose basil leaves I had to use up. Also squeezed juice from 1/2 a lime in addition to vinegar. Wonderful. I will make a double batch next time. The amount of garlic was just right for us, as well as the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
Wow! This was really good! The only thing I substituted was pine nuts instead of the other nuts. Also the left overs actually tasted better the next day- I think I will make the pesto again a day ahead of time so the flavors will blend better. Also there is no need to pick the leaves off the cilantro- just wash- squeeze out the water-cut the ends off, then cut in half and add to the blender- I learned that from making Amy's Cilantro Sauce(on this site)so many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
I find with cilantro, you either love it or hate it. This pesto is such a great variation of regular basil pesto. My boyfriend claims that he's not a fan of cilantro, so I didn't tell him he was eating it. I finally broke it to him after he raved about the dinner I had made! I think he's hooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2000
I love this recipe, only I never use 5 cloves of garlic, only two and even that seems pretty strong, although I love garlic. Anyway, this one is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2001
This was fabulous! I wouldn't change a thing--except I did use only 2 cloves of garlic, which was plenty. We look forward to enjoying this recipe many more times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
The Cilantro Pesto was GREAT! I took home to my parents over the holidays and they loved it! A great compliment from my mother who is a SUPER cook! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
This was my first experience with pesto and was very pleased. I only wish I would have had more of an idea as to how much "one bunch" of cilantro was....I will definitely make this again. Two cloves of garlic is more than enough!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
This is amazing! I made it using less oil and with crushed pecans because thats all I had on hand. I used it on homemade pizza as a base sauce and it was excellent! This is my new favourite pesto for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
I would have never thought to make pesto out of cilantro, as I have only had the basil-based kind. But this was fantastic (and much cheaper than using fresh basil, as well)!! I brushed mine over some seabass steaks and stuck them in the broiler for a few minutes - it was really delicious. I can't wait to try it over pasta. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
Very refreshing!!! I love cilantro, and had purchased quite a bit, and this was the perfect recipe to use up some of what I had. I enjoy mixing this with 1/2 jar of alfredo sauce and serving with rice or pasta. Also added some stir-fried chicken to it, and YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pesto

Watch how to make this top-rated pesto recipe.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States