Fabulous Cilantro Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This may be deserving of a five, but only after some changes are made....what's up w/ the vinegar, walnuts, and cayenne?! Hubby loves cilantro, and so I remade it and I chose to change the recipe. I used 2 cups cilantro, 1/4 cup of roasted pinenuts, 1/4 cup of parmesan cheese, 2 tsp of salt, 2 tsp of black pepper, 1 tsp minced garlic, and 6 Tbsp olive oil. All I can say is wow...what a kick!!! Much better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
298 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
Wow! This was really good! The only thing I substituted was pine nuts instead of the other nuts. Also the left overs actually tasted better the next day- I think I will make the pesto again a day ahead of time so the flavors will blend better. Also there is no need to pick the leaves off the cilantro- just wash- squeeze out the water-cut the ends off, then cut in half and add to the blender- I learned that from making Amy's Cilantro Sauce(on this site)so many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
I used this recipe to create a quick and easy appetizer I had at a party a few years ago. Spread one package of cream cheese on a plate and then spread it with the cilantro pesto. Serve with tortilla chips or crackers. I used more cilantro than called for in this recipe - almost double, I think. Also added some lime juice which gave a great, bright burst of flavor. Don't really remember how much, but maybe 1-2 T?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
This was great! To adjust to personal taste: I use only 2 cloves of garlic, which was plenty. 1/3 c. of parmesan, 1/2 tsp. black pepper, 1 tbs. lemon juice and, 1/3 c. Brazilian nuts. Awesome pesto!...Next time, I’d double recipe so I can freeze some in an ice-cube tray for quick meals. Thank you for sharing and for some many helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
Excellent! I added some water as a replacement for half the oil. The flavors were definitely better the second day. I'd recommend preparing the sauce the night before to give the flavors a chance to meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I was not expecting much from this, but it was very good! I often buy fresh cilantro to use a small amount for a recipe, and it's frustrating trying to find a way to use up the rest. This is a tasty and easy way to use it up. I may try some other cilantro pesto recipes as well, but the nice thing about this one is that you probably have all the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
read previous reviews so subbed lemon juice for vinegar. Had pine nuts after making basil pesto, so toasted them & used them instead. Also, used about a 1/4t crushed red pepper instead of cayenne...I don't like really hot, just a zing. Since I was washing the cilantro as I was adding it to the blender, putting all the liquids in to begin w/, it got a little water & mixed up very nicely. Let it sit in fridge overnite & used on pasta w/ some feta...yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIANA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
We loved this! We used it first as a sauce with grilled chicken breasts, and used the leftovers as a pasta sauce. My husband liked it so much, he called his mother and told her how great it was! Victory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This is excellent! I followed the recipe as far as the pesto goes but then decided to add chicken. I cooked the boneless chicken breast with garlic, red onions, and yellow peppers. MMMM! My guest thoroughly enjoyed it and I plan to pass this one on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
Terrific on pasta. A very good alternative to basil based pestos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gales Ferry, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pesto

Watch how to make this top-rated pesto recipe.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States