Fabulous Cilantro Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
This is a really good pesto! I substituted toasted pine nuts for the nuts and used a tablespoon of fresh lime juice instead of vinegar. Definitely a keeper to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This came out really well though i have to say, i couldn't tell that there was cilantro in it [instead of the usual basil]. I did change it a bit. I didn't have any white wine vinegar so i used red and added a couple of squirts of lemon juice. The large [more than normal] amount of garlic made it delightfully spicy. Also, when i mixed the pesto with the pasta, i added one finely chopped tomato and 1/4 of a bell pepper and it gave the final dish a little more texture and freshness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Cavanaugh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Delicious! Made this with pasta to searve with chicken. Pasta could have been served on it's own...family loved it! Cayanne gave it a little kick and just love that this was made with cilantro. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I love the idea of pesto made with something other than basil. This required more oil than called for to blend all the ingredients. Maybe I will enjoy this as a cold salad, but I was disappointed with the taste and texture when the cilantro pesto mixed with the warm pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This was great...a wonderful take on the old basil pesto...even my kids loved it! Although I did add only three cloves of garlic :)I will be trying this on many other dishes it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Hurd-Burnell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I'd give this 10 stars! I didn't make the pasta. Only made the pesto and left out the nuts. Then I mixed the pesto with some ricotta cheese and used to make crostini. Just spread some olive oil on some slices of French bread, toast under the broiler, top with slices of tomato, then ricotta and cilantro pesto mixture, then sprinkle parmesean cheese over all and broil for 1 minute. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I made this tonight (the pesto)and it was good. I omitted the nuts, vinegar. 2 cloves of garlic was plenty like another person suggested. I will make again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilmany64

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Easy and YUM! We are nuts about pestos in our house and I am so happy to add this to our collection of different types:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama of four

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I used chili powder instead of cayenne, lime juice instead of vinegar and walnuts then let it sit in the refrigerator for a few days. When I mixed it in with the hot pasta I grated parmesan on top. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Most delicious. The taste was strong, so maybe not for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pesto

Watch how to make this top-rated pesto recipe.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States