Fabulous Cilantro Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
We all need to go shopping for White Wine Vinegar! Just made this, looks great while it's marinating in the fridge. I used a combo of almonds and pine nuts, half a fresh jalapeno, and lemon j. also....(items I had on hand), tried to keep to the main idea. I plan to use it tomm. night with grilled shrimp and steak fajita's as a paste on the tortilla instead of Guacamole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
A B S O L U T E L Y F A N T A S T I C!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! My taste buds are still YELLING - THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I couldn't pass up the 3 for $1 sale on cilantro, so this was the perfect recipe to use it up. I followed the recipe pretty much as written, except substituting lemon juice for wine vinegar, and adding a jalapeño pepper for that extra heat. It was delicious on top of grilled chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This was really delicious! Everyone loved it, including a friend who stopped by. She commented on the amazing smell and I couldn't resist sending some home with her. We had it over hot pasta and later over cold pasta. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I made the pesto recipe as is and LOVED it! I used it on a pizza with roasted chicken and then on pasta. Beautiful bright green color and delish flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frances g.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe. I used a little less than one bunch of cilantro - only because I needed a few tablespoon for another dish. And I used lime juice rather than the wine vinegar and a fair bit less evoo. I'd make this for 4-6 people rather than 8 and use a little less pasta than called for. It was delicious topped with grilled chicken. Be sure to salt to taste after tossing it with the pasta. Salt brings out flavor so if the flavors just aren't singing then add a bit more and taste again. Oh yeah..i used almonds because it's what I had on hand. I enjoyed the mellow sweetness to balance out the lime and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Family loved this recipe. I will cook it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Excellent! We've never made pesto before, but this turned out perfect! We used italian dressing instead of the white wine vinegar, and pine nuts. we also ended up using a little less than 1/2 c olive oil and thought it was the perfect consistency. Thanks for this great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Oh my goodness, this is really good. I also substituted lemon for vinegar. This would be a great sandwich spread in addition to a pasta topper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Well I made the mistake of following the first reviewer's advice as she changed the recipe and it came out horribly oversalted. So I tried to salvage the rest of the pesto by trying to incorporate a few of the original ingredients that the original submitter included that the first reviewer took out (cayenne pepper and vinegar), and it was much better. I will update when I've had a chance to make the recipe completely as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by focaccia9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valley Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto

Watch how to make this top-rated pesto recipe.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States