Fabulous Cilantro Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I couldn't pass up the 3 for $1 sale on cilantro, so this was the perfect recipe to use it up. I followed the recipe pretty much as written, except substituting lemon juice for wine vinegar, and adding a jalapeño pepper for that extra heat. It was delicious on top of grilled chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This was really delicious! Everyone loved it, including a friend who stopped by. She commented on the amazing smell and I couldn't resist sending some home with her. We had it over hot pasta and later over cold pasta. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I made the pesto recipe as is and LOVED it! I used it on a pizza with roasted chicken and then on pasta. Beautiful bright green color and delish flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frances g.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe. I used a little less than one bunch of cilantro - only because I needed a few tablespoon for another dish. And I used lime juice rather than the wine vinegar and a fair bit less evoo. I'd make this for 4-6 people rather than 8 and use a little less pasta than called for. It was delicious topped with grilled chicken. Be sure to salt to taste after tossing it with the pasta. Salt brings out flavor so if the flavors just aren't singing then add a bit more and taste again. Oh yeah..i used almonds because it's what I had on hand. I enjoyed the mellow sweetness to balance out the lime and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Family loved this recipe. I will cook it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Excellent! We've never made pesto before, but this turned out perfect! We used italian dressing instead of the white wine vinegar, and pine nuts. we also ended up using a little less than 1/2 c olive oil and thought it was the perfect consistency. Thanks for this great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Oh my goodness, this is really good. I also substituted lemon for vinegar. This would be a great sandwich spread in addition to a pasta topper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Well I made the mistake of following the first reviewer's advice as she changed the recipe and it came out horribly oversalted. So I tried to salvage the rest of the pesto by trying to incorporate a few of the original ingredients that the original submitter included that the first reviewer took out (cayenne pepper and vinegar), and it was much better. I will update when I've had a chance to make the recipe completely as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by focaccia9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valley Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I love cilantro but have only ever used it in salsa's. I was thrilled to find a new way to use it and this stores really well in the fridge. Easy to make and great to pull at a later date for a quick amazing pasta dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Patuxent River, Maryland, USA
Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This turned out great. gave away a lot of it to friends who now want me to make more. excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto

Watch how to make this top-rated pesto recipe.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States