Fab Summer Blackened Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This is an excellent salad, easily adaptable to suit individual tastes and preferences. For me that meant substituting fresh tomatoes for the sun-dried, which just weren’t moving me in a cold salad. It also meant not stirring crushed garlic into a hot pan where you’re blackening chicken, which I had Hubs do outside on the gas grill (even tho’ it’s 36 degrees outside!) in a cast iron skillet. I still wanted the garlic flavor, however, so I added some, minced, to the salad dressing instead. I needed to adjust the salad dressing as well, to my preferred oil to vinegar ratio of 3:1. Equal parts vinegar and oil would be far too vinegary for me. Everything is in balance here, and I especially liked the mix of the peppery arugula with the milder greens and the mild, creamy avocado against the spicy, blackened chicken. Rather than dice everything and toss it altogether, I topped the greens with the tomatoes, olives and slices of avocado, then arranged a sliced chicken breast on each. Great salad that does both the taste buds and body good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Delicious! Added Feta cheese and red onions; omitted olives. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Easy and yummy. Added avocado to the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Only used sun-dried tomatoes and spring mix since that's what I had on hand, but this is easily one of the best salads I've had in a while. The dressing is easily my favorite part! The whole dish is delicious the next day, too. I have a lovely, slightly tart white wine with it; it goes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmilyJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Yummy salad! Wonderful flavors. I made it as is & loved it! I was worried the chicken would be too spicy for my taste, but it was the right amount of kick. The calorie count is high, but that comes from various fats in the recipe, which are good fats, so I'm ok with it. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This salad was so good and a snap to put together. Instead of frying the chicken whole, I sliced the breasts into strips and then seasoned. Not a sun dried tomato fan so I left those out but because I had everything on hand, I added broccoli, carrots, cukes and topped with feta. The avocado beautifully complimented the spice of the chicken. Very nice and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
delish, cooked the chicken on the grill for some extra yummy smokey flavor. quick,easy, perfect for summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This was delicious! The chicken was nice and spicy, but when combined with the avocado's natural cooling effect it was divine! I bought the chicken cut for Scallopini (sp?) so it was thin and tender and better sized for salad. The dressing was really good, but I made two portions of it instead of one. This is a recipe I'll keep and share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
A very tasty salad. Makes a nice summer dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
This had a nice zing to it. I made it as a side salad for blackened salmon, so I didn't use the chicken. I added a clove of garlic and about 3 dashes of cajun seasoning to the dressing. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States