Ezekiel Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I don't have a flour mill and used my spice grinder to break down the grains and beans. The recipe should have the yield a flour mill will give because what I have is like a soup I am gradually adding more spelt and some barley flakes to try to salvage the work I have done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
terrific recipe! I would like to add that the amount of salt is just right (in contrast to the previous comment) and not a mistake! The bread is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This bread was very good.....AFTER I had to doctor the recipe up....big time!! I don't know where I went wrong and I am positive I followed the recipe to the letter, but when it was time to pour the "batter" into the prepared loaf pans I knew there was NO WAY this was going to turn in to bread Ezekiel or otherwise. It was just this WATERY mixture. I ended up adding tons of add'l flours....every kind I had....add'l spelt, whole wheat, sun flower.....anything I had. It ended up moist and dense, but this recipe didn't work for me. 4 cups of water? After I did my hocus-pocus I reviewed the recipe and realize that 5 1/2 c of liquid is WAY HIGH for the amount of dry ingredients.... I don't want to toss this recipe as it is healthy, but HELP!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This bread is delicious. I did change some things, I used 1 T salt instead of 2. I didn't have any millet so I used quinoa instead. Added flax seed and raw sunflower seed to the batter and sprinkled some oat flakes on top of loaves. I worried about all the grains and beans being ground into flour but it work very well in my blender. It is heavy duty high speed so I don't know if it would have ground that well in my food processor. I think it would be good with cinnamon and raisins also. Will make this bread often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I have made this bread twice. The first time I just added enough white flour until I got bread consistency. It was great a bit too sweet. The second time I reduced the water to 3 cups, used 7.5 cups of ezekiel mix ( I buy all the grains mixed and grind them) 1 cup white flour and only 1/2 cup honey. I also add 2 tbsp vital wheat gluten to make a smooth bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
The reason I give this bread a three our if five stars is because of the inability of my food processor to finely grind the wheat berries. If you have a flour mill this would probably be great but without it the bread is just full of wheat berries and the consistency is crumbly due to the lower gluten content. Note: when looking for wheat berries for breads look for hard not soft because the gluten content is higher, insuring a nicer bread. Also when grinding the flour the finer it is the more elasticity it will have allowing you to have a cutable loaf. The flavor was good and had a slight sweetness. I covered the tope of mine with honey and sunflower seeds and it added a nice sweet and nutty touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Just made this bread for the first time, sadly before I read about the salt and need for 3 pans. In addition to these changes, I see some people reduce the honey. Do you need to add more liquid if less honey? Also, my bread is very crumbly. Suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Perfect! No problems with rising too much or sticking to the loaf pans. Since I live by the rule "cooking is an art; baking is a science", I measure very carefully for baking. I also use non-stick loaf pans lightly sprayed with Pam. I've made this bread several times in the past few weeks, and I love it! I switched the 1 cup honey for 1/2 cup of molasses and 1/2 cup of organic blue agave, which works well. I've made it in the bread machine and in the oven. Not too much difference. I think the bread machine version has a little more stability. I'm also going to try adding dried cranberries or raisins to make a sweet bread next time. Right now I enjoy it in the morning, lightly toasted with butter. For those who like a hearty, grainy bread, this is a good choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee R.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I love Ezekiel bread...however this was a bit sweet and I did not even put in the full cup of honey. Since this is cooked, I think I'll substitute blackstrap molasses in my next attempt since my raw honey is prized and I hate to spoil it's enzyme power by heating it over 117 degrees! I could not get the loaves out of the pan without wrecking them. I greased very well. Next time I'll definitely use some parchment paper but the recipe needs to include the rest of the story. Slicing after a day would be helpful to include, as others mentioned. Tasted great and ingredients are great, too. I buy yeast in bulk so 2 tsp. = 1 pkg. yeast, or 4 tsp. for the entire recipe. I've used a recipe for steel-cut oats bread and in that you boil water and put it, salt, blackstrap molasses, butter and steel cut oats in a bowl and let them sit before continuing by adding yeast, water, flour, etc. this may help with the hard bits in this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Excellent! Tastes fantastic and filling with honey and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States