Ezekiel Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Megora
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This bread is awesome!! I mix all the grains together and grind them in my cuisinart blender. You can only do 1/2 cup at a time or it overheats the blender. If the blender starts to get hot I let it rest a while. I also put 1/2 to 3/4 cup in the cuisinart food processor. It takes a lot longer to grind to a coarse meal in the food processor. In food processor it takes maybe 5 min or more, in the blender a few minutes. So part of your day is spent grinding flour and making alot of noise. After that the recipe is so easy. I've made it with 1/2 the called for honey with good results. I always make one loaf with raisins swirled in and cinnamon sprinkled on top, and one with sesame and pumpkin seeds on top. Let them cool completely and keep in the fridge before slicing. I have done this and wrapped slices in plastic wrap for freezer. It freezes very well. You can also substitue other grains if your low on one. One time I used part buckwheat groats. So wholesome and delicious. Thanks to the reviewer who originally gave the blender tip. It would never have occurred to me to try grinding grains in a blender. Grain mills are too expensive for me right now. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I added pecans and cranberries, really good taste. I will use 1/2 the salt next time and will bake 1hr 10 min at 3:50 then leave in pans to cool for about an hour. I think Ezekiel would have added the cranberries but didn't know where to find them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I was excited to make this bread and followed the recipe exactly. Not sure what went wrong, but after over an hour in the oven, it still wasn't cooked through. When the top began to burn I finally took the loaves out and switched them to racks to cool. Both loaves were nearly uncooked in entirety and collapsed upon removal from the pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This bread is really yummy - and that fact that it is so nutritious makes it even better! I grounddry ingredients in small batches with a blender, and instead of mixing by hand, I put it all back in the blender on low speed for about 5 minutes instead of 10. This tastes really good warm with some margarine and jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I use the flour from this recipe to make the BEST WAFFLES. My 12yo son and his friends gobbled these up!! Omitted yeast and made with baking soda, baking powder, salt, eggs, oil, and buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Good recipe but it should read 2 TEASPOONS of salt not tablespoons
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
The bread is ok. It wasn't meant to be a reward but to symbolize the Lord's dissatisfaction with the people of Israel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Ezekiel 4;9 bread is made with sprouted grain. Which is healthier for you, low glycemic, high fiber and more vitamins. But this is an ok quick alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I used only 2 tsp of salt and this bread came out wonderful. My husband and I own a store where we have all the ingredients at hand - and homemade is so much better than store bought. My children enjoyed helping put the ingredients together too. The bread was crumbly when very warm but even better the next day -- all 8 of my children asked to have it for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blanch, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
A good, hearty, nutritious bread, all ingredients available at the Whole Foods across the street from my house - but WAY too sweet for my liking. Next time I'll experiment with cutting the honey back to maybe 1/4 cup, and cutting the salt back so hopefully it'll still rise properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrisDee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States