Ezekiel Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I love Ezekiel bread...however this was a bit sweet and I did not even put in the full cup of honey. Since this is cooked, I think I'll substitute blackstrap molasses in my next attempt since my raw honey is prized and I hate to spoil it's enzyme power by heating it over 117 degrees! I could not get the loaves out of the pan without wrecking them. I greased very well. Next time I'll definitely use some parchment paper but the recipe needs to include the rest of the story. Slicing after a day would be helpful to include, as others mentioned. Tasted great and ingredients are great, too. I buy yeast in bulk so 2 tsp. = 1 pkg. yeast, or 4 tsp. for the entire recipe. I've used a recipe for steel-cut oats bread and in that you boil water and put it, salt, blackstrap molasses, butter and steel cut oats in a bowl and let them sit before continuing by adding yeast, water, flour, etc. this may help with the hard bits in this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Excellent! Tastes fantastic and filling with honey and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Except we just use 2 teaspoons of salt, and we use sea salt. We got our recipe out of Bread Beckers cook book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Rhodes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Great recipe,works well the amount of ingrediants actually made 21\2 loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This was VERY Good. My 2 year old really likes it. My sister texed me to say "That was the BEST Bread I have ever eaten!!" My only thing was it raised too high and overflowed the pan so I will put it in 3 pans next time. Maybe 2 regular and one or two mini loaf pans. It didn't have enough time to obsorbe the liquid. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Awesome, very healthy, slow burning carb for diabetics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This bread is easy and fun to make and is very healthy but i took off two stars because the recipe is has mistake in the ingredients. It should say 2 tsp. of salt not 2 Tablespoons. The first time we made it it was very salty so we researched it and all the other ezekiel recipes online call for 2 tsp of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
716 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I think I would add a couple of beaten eggs to the mix to give it even more protein and make it hold together better. If you're worried about cholesterol, just use egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
THIS BREAD MAKES FABOULOUS CROUTONS! I WAS TIRED OF EATING IT ON IT'S OWN. I CUBED IT UP, ADDED A LITTLE OLIVE OIL, SALT AND PEPPER AND BAKED AT 3OO FOR ABOUT 10-15 MIN. IT IS AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Very good bread.I soak the wheat berries first,cover with water,(2 days),change water once a day,then drain,and grind.Barley and beans I soak overnight then drain and grind.Millet and lentils I leave dry.Sometimes I decrease the water amount by half cup just depends on how the dough feels.I use chickpeas instead of beans too.You can even let the beans and wheat sprout then grind.I find you get the same benefits but no gas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States