Extreme Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This cake was absolutely wonderful! Followed the recipe exactly; it was so flavorful and moist... just perfection. My daughters went crazy for it (with the chocoholics in my family, that's high praise!) Don't be alarmed at the thinness of the batter after adding the boiling water, it sets up beautifully. This is now my default chocolate cake mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzannaS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Everyone I've ever made this cake for has LOVED it! I get requests to make it all the time and for you chocolate lovers. . . . I add dark chocolate chips to it to give it that over the top chocolate kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
If you are like me, and you read the bad reviews before you make the recipe, don't be afraid! My cake turned out perfect with none of the problems talked about. My cakes did not spill over during baking and cooked perfectly in 30 min. I assume those who had problems used an 8" pan instead of a 9" pan. I used parchment on the bottom of my pans along with butter and flour to solve the cake sticking in the pan problem. The cakes came out perfectly after 10min of cooling time. There was also no crumbling problem when I cut the cakes in half for layering, and they easily transferred around from cooling rack to icing plate. The icing was a perfect spreading texture, and there was no issue with crumbs. I did always place the cut side down for all layers while I iced the cake. The cake was a moist, rich chocolate lovers dream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
moist but sticks to pan cant do without butter paper.. taste delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lopaka77
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I made for a friends birthday and covered it all in ganache. I only made a 2 layer version but it was still divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
It's a delicious and easy cake . I replaced the unsweetened coco with sweet one and reduce the sugar to third cup . Also I used coffee instead of hot water .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Najla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Every time I make this cake and frosting, it gets rave reviews. This cake is so moist. Do not leave out the boiling water. (Swap out for fresh brewed coffee for a richer flavor) . The recipe makes a generous amount of frosting, so there's plenty if you want to split your cakes. Good thing too, because it will be hard to resist eating this by the spoonfuls or reserving some for later. (Try swirling with peanut butter )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheelah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Excellent chocolate cake. Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This cake is very moist & frosting is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Wow! That's my initial reaction. For years, I have searched for a chocolate cake recipe that tastes like chocolate - not just flavoring. This is is! Even my husband said the icing is like eating a candy bar. I read all of the reviews and ultimately ended up making the recipe exactly as RACH56 posted it - it was a knock-out. The only thing I did differently was to add a parchment paper liner to the bottom of the cake pans and it came out perfect. I don't know what other people are doing, but this cake deserves 10 stars - it is truly outstanding. Oh, I did use the coffee in lieu of water, but nothing else. Thanks again! This is my new "favorite" cake and "favorite dessert".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa in New Orleans

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Abita Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States