Extreme Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This was the best chocolate cake ever! So moist and delicious. I made this for my husband's birthday and he loved it! Will definitely make again, highly recommend you try this recipe - you will look no further for a chocolate cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I admit, I have never made a from scratch cake batter. I made this as cupcakes for a birthday party with a soy allergy and celiac's for another person. I substituted the following: coconut oil instead of vegetable, and with gluten-free flour, and just plain old forgot to use boiled water, so it was just regular water. It turned out amazing!!! I added soy-free chocolate chunks too (which I think were the special touch that won everyone over). I didn't follow the icing recipe as I was also making gingerbread cupcakes and wanted it vanilla flavour, so just added cocoa when I was done with that. Divine. They were a massive hit. And as you guessed- everyone could enjoy them! (thankfully no egg allergies!!!) Will be using this recipe again :) If you're interested in doing them cupcake style: I was a bit worried they would stick to the cupcake liners, but they came out just fine with minimal cake loss! Now, I can't guarantee it for everyone as I used a gluten free flour, but I'd risk it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
this review is only for the cake part of the recipe. the cake turned out delicious! it was moist and fluffy, and not too sweet at all. Like some other reviewers said though, this recipe is actually from the back of the Hershey's unsweetened cocoa powder box. i think the next time, i will try substituting the boiling water for coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mariathechef
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
The batter for this cake was so delicious!!! Literally left a lot of it to lick! Only concern is that it was spongey, probably because of my ingredients (expired, etc.). Other than that, I really enjoyed this cake and the easy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Awesome! be sure and do it with the coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Amazingly chocolatety and super moist! This will be my go to chocolate cake recipe from now on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Really yummy, rich chocolate cake. I always have extra frosting even with layering in between cake, so sometimes I cut back the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I loved this recipe one of the best cakes ever!!!! On the frosting i only had 4 cups confectioners sugar so i added 2 cups unsweetened cocoa powder WONDERFUL bitter sweet frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Me and my classmate tried this for our baking at school and the teachers like this so much! It's so sweet, moist and very chocolatey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
AMAZING! Followed instructions exactly. My family said it was the best cake I've ever made!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States