Extreme Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I have REALLY high standards for chocolate cakes. I compare every chocolate cake to one I had at a resort in Arizona. Though this one was very good, I still liked the one at the resort better. But 4 stars is still a good score.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
This is great for cupcakes, but I only need half the icing when doing cupcakes (and pipe it on). I also used a little more milk in the icing to make it less firm. I took these to work and people loved them. So moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
This may be the best cake I have EVER made! And, I've made a lot of cakes!!! ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!! Definitely tasted like a professional cake. Made it for my son's birthday and the whole family loved it. The icing was a perfect consistency as well. Just a note, we are trying to eat healthier & GMO free, so this cake was mostly organic with whole wheat flour. I've found baked goods often turn out differently with whole wheat flour, so wasn't sure how this would turn out. I added a little extra water, maybe 1/4-1/2 cup. I also used coconut oil. The cake did not rise as much as I expected, but it was a perfectly moist & delicious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
The cake wasn't as sweet as I prefer chocolate cake to be. (I know, I'm crazy) but I loved the chocolate frosting. I was in a hurry and out of milk so I tried something crazy.... I melted vanilla ice cream in place of the milk! It worked!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4thegospel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
AMAZING!!! Awesome cold or warm, frosting or not. It is not like any other from scratch cake I have made (it actually tastes good!) I didn't add about a 1/4 cup water because it started to get very soupy. It stiil turned out very moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bedford08
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
This got rave reviews by my friends. I used coffee instead of boiling water (like other reviews suggested.). I wish I had one cake without coffee to compare, but you can't taste the coffee at all; and this is coming from someone who doesn't like coffee and can smell it in nearly everything it's in. 2- 9x2" pans and I made a 3rd pan for 3rd layer= which uses 1 1/3-1 1/2 recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
More like a regular chocolate cake, but it's still pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I liked this cake but found that is was just too soft to be a good cake to work with, I adjusted the recipe so that I use 1 & 1/2 times the stated amount of flour and I have a fantastic Chocolate cake that everyone raves about and is great for torting and filling. Yummo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
So excellent!!!! So easy!!!! So delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States