Extreme Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
This cake was AMAZING! I prefer dark chocolate to milk chocolate so I used Hershey's special dark cocoa for both the cake and icing. I also substituted 1/2 cup butter for vegetable oil. It was perfect, and there were no issues with sticking to the pan. I recommend making it the day before you plan to eat it and refridgerating overnight. It's much better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Half the cake stuck to the pan after waiting 20 min to remove it. It is also very delicate/crumbly which makes it difficult to ice it back together. It seems as though the cake will fall apart any minute. Good flavour however, I'll be trying a different cake recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Seriously so moist and delicious! The best chocolate cake I've ever made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
This recipe is good. Boxed cake mix and icing from a tub is also good... and easier... I would generally still go that route. However, if you're a stickler for from-scratch technique or maybe you have an hour to make a cake with things in your pantry (like I did!) then this recipe is fantastic! I actually halved the recipe and cooked up 1 x 8-inch pan's worth, which worked great, and fed 6 kids just fine. Needed 5-10 more minutes in the oven than a 9-inch pan since it was a bit thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I never give 5 stars on anything and This gets 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I have REALLY high standards for chocolate cakes. I compare every chocolate cake to one I had at a resort in Arizona. Though this one was very good, I still liked the one at the resort better. But 4 stars is still a good score.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
This is great for cupcakes, but I only need half the icing when doing cupcakes (and pipe it on). I also used a little more milk in the icing to make it less firm. I took these to work and people loved them. So moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
This may be the best cake I have EVER made! And, I've made a lot of cakes!!! ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!! Definitely tasted like a professional cake. Made it for my son's birthday and the whole family loved it. The icing was a perfect consistency as well. Just a note, we are trying to eat healthier & GMO free, so this cake was mostly organic with whole wheat flour. I've found baked goods often turn out differently with whole wheat flour, so wasn't sure how this would turn out. I added a little extra water, maybe 1/4-1/2 cup. I also used coconut oil. The cake did not rise as much as I expected, but it was a perfectly moist & delicious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
The cake wasn't as sweet as I prefer chocolate cake to be. (I know, I'm crazy) but I loved the chocolate frosting. I was in a hurry and out of milk so I tried something crazy.... I melted vanilla ice cream in place of the milk! It worked!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4thegospel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States