Extreme Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I did read some reviews first and so I substituted a cup of black coffee for the water. I also reduced the cocoa in the frosting to one cup and the sugar to under 3 cups. Left the cake in the pan to cool for 1hr. I used 9" springform pans and the the cake did not stick (but that might be the tin glide), one of the cakes fractured slightly but I was able to put it together (it is a very delicate cake). The cake was moist and delicious, I could have eating the frosting from the bowl and that doesn't happen often. It was a smash hit welcome home cake for dad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This is some of the BEST chocolate cake I have ever tried! I love how I had all of the ingredients already, and it is SO MOIST! I could eat this cake all day long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Klayr Clark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Per
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
The cake was easy to make, and the direction was really simple to follow. EVERONE loved it!! I will be saving this recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I have made this cake four times and everyone who tries it loves it. It's very moist and the frosting is great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
This recipe came out like I wanted it to. If you are worried if it is to watery don't worry it is the right texture. Everyone should try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seaside, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This is an amazing recipe. I read the reviews with difficulty getting the cake out of the pan and decided to use my trusty spring form pan. I also substituted the boiling water for boiled groumd coffee. I lined the bottom with Reynolds wrap non stick foil and waited 15minutes before removing the side of the pan. The foil slid off the bottom with great ease when it was completely cooled. I made a strawberry chocolate cake for my sister's sweet 16 and got rave reviews and requests for other birthdays. I filled the split layers with cream cheese frosting and canned strawberry topping and frosted with cream cheese icing pouring a dark chocolate ganache on top... I then arranged strawberries on top and it was quite pretty. And delicious! TryinG To add a photo but no luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eviek
Home Town: Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica, Guyana
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This cake was awesomely delicious. I made this cake for family over the holidays and it did NOT disappoint. I followed the recipe to a "T" with the addition of the hot coffee in place of the hot water. Family gave it rave reviews...even the members who are not big chocolate cake fans took slices home to enjoy again later. I had one family member who actually licked the plate clean after the last morsel had been consumed. Cake, frosting and all was fantastic. I will definitely be making this again....only for special occasions because it is sinfully rich and calorie laden!!! YUMMY. Thanks~D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Excellent recipe. Quick FYI; cake is not firm enough for layers. Used for cupcakes and they were great. I followed all directions and ingredients (added espresso powder to water for that enhanced chocolate flavor). Not oily, beautifully most and dark. Pulls easily from paper wrappers. Did not disappoint and for a soft, moist, dark chocolate cake I will look no further. For a cake to hold up to layers, I'd stick with Rose Levy Berenbaum recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jake
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I made this recipe for my family and they loved it! The only problem that I had was with the icing. The icing just didn't have the right icing taste. I added two packets of cream cheese to it and that then solved the problem. Overall the cake was moist and I will definitely be making this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This was excellent! The description is perfect: a rich, moist cake. I did not try the frosting because I'd already fallen in love with Chocolate Frosting II (made with 2.5 c sugar). I made 24 cupcakes with this recipe and baked them for about 21 minutes. I am strongly opposed to chemical-laden boxed cake mixes, so thank you for this wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States