Extreme Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2000
I was extremely disapointed with this cake. The boiling water ruined the whole cake, and it didn't come out. Don't waste your ingredients with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2000
This was truly the richest and most moist chocolate cake I've ever had! I love the texture of the cake, and with it split into 4 total layers, there's the opportunity to really taste the icing. The recipe for the icing makes more than enough, so it was not hard to generously cover the cake. I made it for my husband's birthday and everyone is still raving about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2000
I agree. The boiling water ruined it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2001
This is the best chocolate cake I have ever had! I wont use another recipe for chocolate cake ever again and I wont by boxed batter again either. This cake was easy to make and came out perfect with no special effort. The frosting was excellent but I used cream instead of milk. My husband and I couldnt stop eating it... my only complaint would be that its additcting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2001
This cake is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2001
This cake is delicious. The sugar does not overpower the chocolate flavor, and it is very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
This is an AWESOME cake. By far the best chocolate cake I've ever made. I made it for my husband's 30th birthday and it turned out tasting very good. My only complaint is that it's almost TOO moist because it tore up coming out of the pans. Yummy though!! I also used Dutch Processed Hershey's cocoa and it really came out smooth and wonderful. I'd recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
GREAT recipe! But do it in three 8 or 9" pans instead of two, I learned after SEVERAL messy mishaps that it eliminates the oven spills. YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM, rich chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WesMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
The most amazing chocolate cake ever!! Dense, rich and always turns out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
Absolutely amazing chocolate cake!! Moist and delicious, I've made it twice and just got a request for one for my sister's birthday. The frosting is fabulous too and is more than enough to cover the cakes generously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States