Extreme Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This recipe is amazing! The recipe is easy and I have all the ingredients in my kitchen already. The batter does come out soupy, but it bakes up really moist and fluffy. I actually used this cake batter to make cupcakes, and it was hard to scoop into the cups, but totally worth it. I didn't make the icing, however, and chose to use my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This cake was amazing! So rich and delicious! Followed the exact recipe, but used coffee instead of boiling water. I was able to use all the batter with the Wilton round cake pans' they're pretty deep. The batter was soupy but it baked well. It was amazing, whole family loved it! This will be my "go to" chocolate cake recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy B
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I have been using this cake recipe for years and it is the best chocolate cake ever! The flavor is rich chocolate without being too sweet but very moist. I often use hot coffee in place of the water which adds to the richness. I made 24 cupcakes but used a different frosting this time. The changes I made were for HIGH ALTITUDE: Decrease sugar to 1 3/4 cups; increase flour to 1 3/4 cups plus 2 tablespoons; decrease baking powder to 1 1/4 teaspoons; decrease baking soda to 1 1/4 teaspoons; increase milk to 1 cup plus 2 tablespoons. Hope this helps. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Followed the ingredients exactly as written, except that I used buttermilk instead of milk, and came out incredible! By far the best chocolate cake recipe I've made in a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This cake is incredible. I bake for my extended family a lot and I do plenty of cakes, and after eating this one they said it was the best cake I have ever made. The cake itself was rich, moist, and the perfect balance between density and airiness. The icing was a great pairing too. I make chocolate buttercream icing all the time but this recipe was far better than anything I'd done before. However it calls for 1 1/2 C of cocoa powder in the icing and after adding just 1/2 C, it tasted great so I didn't add more. It was very chocolaty already and I was worried about how it would taste if I added more. The ingredients made a good amount of icing too, which would very easily cover every layer if you split the layers horizontally like they called for. I didn't to that, so I had enough to add decorative touches and piping to the finished cake, and then I had some icing left over that I'll store for something else I make. I will definitely make this again. It is my go-to chocolate cake from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This is probably one of the best chocolate cakes I've ever had. I made it for my managers birthday and all my co-workers raved over it. I brought home some leftovers for my parents and they were fighting each other for the last bite! I followed others suggestions and used a cup of hot coffee instead of boiling water which is what I think really set this cake apart. I also used unsweetened vanilla almond milk (since that was all I had) and it came out perfect. I did find that I needed to bake the cake for about 45 to 50 mins before a toothpick came out mostly clean. The cake was a bit rounded when it first came out but flatten as it cooled. Also, there was a LOT of frosting (I didn't split each layer though); I ended up throwing some of the extra away. This recipe is definitely a keeper and I can't wait for an opportunity to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PEGT2865
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I didn't make this frosting, but the cake was the best cake I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEGT2865

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Awesome!! Totally awesome! I confess I was concerned because the mix was so watery when I added the boiling water but I continued to follow the instructions; glad I did because it turned out great! I used almond milk instead of regular milk with great results. This cake was so good it didn't last long in our house. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
EASY & DELICIOUS!!...I was a little hesitate to add the boiling water but don't worry, your cake batter will be thin but it turns out great!! On another note, I actually forgot to hand stir the boiling water. I poured it in while my electric mixer was going & it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Amazing! I added instant coffee to the boiling water (about 1.5tsp per cup, as directed on the coffee container)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States