Extreme Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Wow! Delicious! I used the coffee as many others did, and waited 20 minutes to pop them out of the cake pans. Glad I did! Super moist, delicious, and one of the easiest cake mixes ever. It was seriously as easy as making a boxed cake. I have never been good at making cakes, but this one came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ms.marty77
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This was the best recipe ever! Was super moist and rich. 1st time making this and was hesitant with the boiling water. I did slowly blend it in, took me about 5 min. Also I only had a bundt cake pan so I used that. I will definitely use this recipe again. THANK YOU FOR SHARING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
The cake is delicious but I don't like the texture. It's not a good cake for splitting into layers and is really difficult to frost. This is because the cake is just too weak. If you hold the cupcake to frost it, it will squish in your hand... It also found it a little flat (I saw another reviewer that was struggling with this issue). If you're just going for a simple single layer cake, this is great. However, I would not suggest it for layering, decorating or cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shwetay
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This cake is awesome!!! It ws so easy for a novice like me. I went thru d reviews n substituted d milk for buttermilk n the water for freshly brewed coffee n added some chocolate chips to d coffee till they dissolved to make it extra chocolaty....used a nine inch pan n had no overflows while baking. Yes also substituted d cocoa for Hershey's Dutch ... N I was in chocolate heaven... Delectable!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Amazing! Followed the recipe and added extra chocolate shavings on the top and it was delicious. Easy to make and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This was super easy to make. I have to say that I was a little worried as my batter was basically liquid, but it came out PERFECT. I made this with a peanut butter frosting for a family function and EVERYONE was raving about it! I will definitely be making this again! Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Super easy and delicious. I have no idea why this recipe has bad reviews. I am a self admitted "impatient" baker and a busy mom who has been looking for a homemade cake recipe that isn't dry. This is it. After many cakes (my kids are 9 and 5), I will finally stop looking. Made this last weekend and brought it to Easter dinner with the family. Everyone loved it. I made the cake according to the directions in a kitchenaid mixer and then baked them in two 9-inch round pans. In my oven, on convection, it was ready at 35 minutes. I made only half the recipe for the frosting and had PLENTY leftover. I made one change to the frosting-I substituted almond extract for the vanilla and this gave it an excellent taste! Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Haven't eaten it yet, but it looks great! No issues with it coming out of the cake pan. Heavily greased the pans and let them cool about 15 minutes on racks. The icing seems pretty sweet but the consistency is perfect. I am sure my kids will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
FIVE STAR!! I haven't made a box cake since!! I get RAVE reviews everywhere I serve it. The only thing I changed was taking another reviewers suggestion and added a cup of hot coffee! It really does make a difference. Other than that ... DON'T change a thing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Hunt
Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Made no alterations, truly a delicious moist chocolate cake with very chocolatey frosting that's just simply better than buying your ok packaged cake mix and factory made frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States