Extreme Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Super easy and delicious. I have no idea why this recipe has bad reviews. I am a self admitted "impatient" baker and a busy mom who has been looking for a homemade cake recipe that isn't dry. This is it. After many cakes (my kids are 9 and 5), I will finally stop looking. Made this last weekend and brought it to Easter dinner with the family. Everyone loved it. I made the cake according to the directions in a kitchenaid mixer and then baked them in two 9-inch round pans. In my oven, on convection, it was ready at 35 minutes. I made only half the recipe for the frosting and had PLENTY leftover. I made one change to the frosting-I substituted almond extract for the vanilla and this gave it an excellent taste! Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Haven't eaten it yet, but it looks great! No issues with it coming out of the cake pan. Heavily greased the pans and let them cool about 15 minutes on racks. The icing seems pretty sweet but the consistency is perfect. I am sure my kids will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
FIVE STAR!! I haven't made a box cake since!! I get RAVE reviews everywhere I serve it. The only thing I changed was taking another reviewers suggestion and added a cup of hot coffee! It really does make a difference. Other than that ... DON'T change a thing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Hunt
Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Made no alterations, truly a delicious moist chocolate cake with very chocolatey frosting that's just simply better than buying your ok packaged cake mix and factory made frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Tried this recipe with dark cocoa for the cake batter, milk chocolate frosting. It turned out great! Also a great first layered cake for our kids to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
great cake! Moist and delicious! I had to adjust a little because I live above 7000 feet, but otherwise a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Made this cake and it was great. Great flavor. I read the reviews before baking and made sure the cake was fully cooled for 20 mins or longer to make sure that it was firm and cooled down enough for me to start splitting the cake in half. I also changed up the cake a bit by adding cream cheese to the frosting and I used 1/2 of cup of Special Dark chocolate instead of usual unsweetened cocoa powder. Made the frosting really dark and perfect. It was the perfect chocolate cake for my friend's birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KevinBerry7406
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Fantastic chocolate cake!! I made the cake exactly the way the author wrote and it was super moist and very, very tasty (almost brownie consistency). I used a different frosting, so I can't comment on that. This is one cake that I'll be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KevinBerry7406

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This was the best chocolate cake ever! So moist and delicious. I made this for my husband's birthday and he loved it! Will definitely make again, highly recommend you try this recipe - you will look no further for a chocolate cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I admit, I have never made a from scratch cake batter. I made this as cupcakes for a birthday party with a soy allergy and celiac's for another person. I substituted the following: coconut oil instead of vegetable, and with gluten-free flour, and just plain old forgot to use boiled water, so it was just regular water. It turned out amazing!!! I added soy-free chocolate chunks too (which I think were the special touch that won everyone over). I didn't follow the icing recipe as I was also making gingerbread cupcakes and wanted it vanilla flavour, so just added cocoa when I was done with that. Divine. They were a massive hit. And as you guessed- everyone could enjoy them! (thankfully no egg allergies!!!) Will be using this recipe again :) If you're interested in doing them cupcake style: I was a bit worried they would stick to the cupcake liners, but they came out just fine with minimal cake loss! Now, I can't guarantee it for everyone as I used a gluten free flour, but I'd risk it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States