Extreme Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Oh. My. Goodness. This cake was wonderful! I made this more my wife, a serious chocolate lover, and she has med her match. This was the first time I have seen her eat only half a cake and stop because it was too sweet! But we all loved how moist it is and the frosting especially.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Earl Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charlie Lortz
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This cake was perfect for my extreme chocolate loving fiance!!! Added chopped semi sweet chocolate chips and slices strawberries between layers. I also made a chocolate creamcheese frosting that was a perfect addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlie Lortz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mendozas1
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Best thing I've ever made In my life! Substituted the cocoa powder with dark cocoa powder. Used two circle cake pans and had a bit extra that I just threw into a bowl and microwaved for a little presnack
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I just made this cake and took the suggestion of adding 1 cup of fresh hot coffee instead of water and OH MAH GOD!! This chocolate cake was amazing with so much flavor and moist! Even the non chocolate lovers loved it! Instead of using the buttercream in this recipe, I made All Recipe Jo-Lynn's recipe for Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting!! It was like heaven in my mouth! If you haven't tried it, try it! Thank you for sharing this recipe! I don't need to look no further for another chocolate cake recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
This cake was so delicious!!!! I used coffee instead of water and it added a wonderful rich flavor to the chocolate. This is my cake recipe from now on. Thank you!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Westley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I made 2 of these cakes to take to my mom and dads anniversary and it is an amazing cake! Feed 25 people with no problem and is so rich, dense and moist! Only change I made was instead of adding a cup of boiling water, I added 1 cup of strong coffee like the video suggested. Beautiful cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gracek
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I had to use prepackaged frosting as I ran out of confectioners sugar but the cake was a hit for an 12-year old's birthday! I used only 2-layers and frosted the center with white frosting. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I made this for a family dinner two nights ago. It got rave reviews (from very picky eaters) and everyone is still talking about it. I didn't change a thing, other than to just throw all the icing ingredients together- I didn't alternate as directed. It was seriously amazing and I can't wait to make - and eat - it again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
It was UH-MAZING! 'Nough said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Elisa Lopez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Very impressive as a birthday cake for a chocoholic! It was very moist and fluffy -- not dense like so many other chocolate cakes that I've tried. I took another reviewer's suggestion and substituted espresso for some of the boiling water. It did stick to the pan even with greasing and flouring, so I will have to try the parchment paper next time. I also ran out of confectioner's sugar (oops) so used a stovetop chocolate frosting recipe instead of buttercream, which was delicious. This will definitely be my new go-to chocolate cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nereidia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,404) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States