Extreme Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I have been making this cake for several years now and it's the absolute best chocolate cake I've ever tasted. I've never tried it with coffee, though, so the next time I make it I'll try that innovation. One note, however. Rach56 should have properly attributed this recipe. If you look on the back of the Hershey's cocoa container, it is exactly the same recipe. Maybe Rach56 didn't know about this, but there it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Rich, moist,chocolatey goodness!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_treats

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This one I made for Mother's Day. It turned out OK... But make sure you put the right amount of eggs and baking soda and baking powder! I know I;m someone who just likes to guesstimate and put like a dash or something. THAT DID NOT WORK WELL it didn't rise high enough for me to cut it into layers. The frosting was too sweet I only added 4 cups of powdered sugar and it was still pretty sweet. Its best to use another recipe for the frosting. But If you follow the directions and make good changes to the frosting it will probably turn out way better than mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Move over Ina and Nigella this is the chocolate cake to make. This cake is crazy good. So moist so fantastic. I followed others recommendation and used strong hot coffee instead of boiling water. Otherwise made as directed, except for the frosting which I change a little and added melted 70% cocoa dark chocolate squares. I sliced up the leftovers and froze them individually and now I can pull out a piece of cake when I need it. This recipe rocks you've got to try it. I will never try a different recipe for chocolate cake because I found the winner. Also I did not split the cakes, I reduced the sugar in the frosting by about two cups. I frosted between the cakes and top and sides. Plenty of frosting to cake ratio for me. Defiantly serve with large glass of cold milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Awesome recipe! I tried it twice with small alternations. First, I reduced sugar to 1.5 cups instead of 2 cups and did not add boiling water. I did add a teaspoon of instant coffee to dry ingredients mix, it gives the cake nice kick. If you don't add water, the cake turns out to be a little less airy and more chewy. Second time I followed the recipe exactly except I reduced sugar to 1.5 cups and substituted water with fresh brewed coffee. It turned out to be very fluffy, soft and delicious! Since my family doesn't like frosting, I'll be omitting the water next time I bake it, that way the cake tastes more like light brownie. But if you are making proper cake, I'd suggest to add a cup of fresh brewed coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Fabulous cake! Like other reviewers I used freshly brewed coffee in place of the hot water. I also used about 25% less sugar and it was plenty sweet - especially with frosting. I did not use the frosting included with this cake recipe though, but rather the Cream Cheese Frosting II recipe from this site. It's got a great texture and wonderful, rich flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Mae

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I love this recipe it is just fabulous. It is really moist and not super sweet, and the frosting tastes great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandra Gast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
i made this cake for my grandfathers birthday and did everything the recipe said but added a little twist by adding some strawberries in the middle and oh boy is this cake delicious i recommend this cake to all those chocolate lovers out there
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This is a superb chocolate cake. I added 2 shots of hot espresso to the boiling water to make the cup measurement. If you like coffee, this enhances a definitive chocolate cake. A recipe to keep and pass on for sure. Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mridu Bhattacharya
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I tried making this cake and it came out very well. I did make certain changes like I baked it for 40 mins at 170 degrees centigrade and let it cool for 1 hour. While frosting I made 4 layers as mentioned in the recipe and I made a rectangular cake. While serving I made thin slices and served it with vanilla ice cream. As it is extreme chocolate cake, I called it "Death by Chocolate". Because of the thin slices, I also served it as Ice cream sandwich, with a thick layer of vanilla ice cream between two slices of cake and some chocolate sauce on the top. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mridu Bhattacharya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Patna, Bihar, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States