Extreme Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I made this in a bunt pan. It only added about 10 minutes to the suggested cooking time. I also swiped out the H20 for hot coffee. Then, I added 3/4 C of semi sweet chocolate chips. Be aware, this will typically make the knife test of your cake fail (it will not come out clean due to the random choc chips throughout). However, it should only be minimal residue. I served this with a chocolate mousse butter cream. Talk about chocoholic sins. Fantastic. Next time I think I will fill it with fresh and lightly sweetened homemade whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordana McLaughlin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
I've tried this recipe three times. I used a 9x13 cake pan instead of the two rounds, but try as I might, I cannot get this cake to rise evenly. I tried cake sleeves and cooking longer at a lower temperature, but still nothing. Drastic differences across the cake. It looks fine up to about 80% of the cooking time, then gets funky. I should note that I only have Dutch process cocoa powder, so I had to swap the baking soda with baking powder as the chocolate has already been neutralized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
The family really enjoyed it. I didn't make this icing to go on it but one I often do that isn't measured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Arrata Ohana
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Made it for our daughters 20th bday party and she said it was the BEST cake she ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
I wanted to make a chocolate cake for my husbands birthday, but I'm tired of chemically produced box mixes. This was my very first cake from scratch complete with homemade icing! I made icing once 16 years ago for my sons first birthday and it was just awful. This cake was easy to make and so was the icing. I followed to recipe instructions to the letter (except I made it in a 9x13 pan) and the icing.. oh. my. goodness. Divine! I absolutely recommend making it as it's written first and adjust it to your own tastes. If you're not going to do the four layers as written (I didn't), you may want to halve the recipe for icing as it is quite a lot. I think I'll try this as cupcakes next time! YUMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Evans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Timmins, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eve Ng
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
THIS RECIPE WAS AMAZING!! Made it for a birthday celebration and everyone wanted a slice, to the point there wasn't enough to go around. Like what the other reviewers suggested, i changed the 1 cup boiling water to 1 cup of boiling hot coffee. I used an instant coffee bag and it turned out just fine. Kept everything else the same, but used another chocolate frosting recipe. To get a flat top, let your cake cool after taking it out of the oven, for about 10-15mins. Mine did puff down which allowed me to get 2 flat top cakes, i placed the tops down, facing each other and slapped some frosting between, so the flat side (bottom of pan) would be the base and top. Do wait for the cakes to cool before frosting else it would turn runny. Fantastic cake and i would make it again! (Well i have to cos everyone has requested this for the subsequent birthdays) DO GIVE IT A TRY, NO REGRETS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve Ng

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Moist, chocolaty, rose even, easy to frost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Oh this cake is good. I used coffee instead of water and made 20 enormous cupcakes. I baked it for about 30 minutes. My big mistake was adding chocolate chips to the batter. The chips sunk to the bottom. Don't bother with them. Otherwise, excellent and extremely moist cake. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURASC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This was amazing! I'm not a chocolate fan but it was for my brother's bday and he LOVES chocolate. Super moist, not too sweet, yummy! I also added 1 cup of coffee instead of the boiling water. And I paired it with lemon frosting from this website too. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Delicious. Not so rich or overpowering that you can't bear more than a couple bites, but decadent enough that you finish your [second...or third] slice completely satisfied and delighted with your decision to indulge. Replaced vegetable oil with coconut oil (regular choice on my part). Though my taste buds were completely satisfied with the original recipe, I knew my decadent-dessert-loving husband would like even more money in this cake. So the second time I made it, right before I poured the batter in the pan I lightly swirled in some peanut butter, dark chocolate shavings, and brown sugar. Just enough to add a little extra boost of richness. The peanut butter swirls looked pretty before I iced it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States