Extreme Banana Nut Bread 'EBNB' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Virginia Sista
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
I had to give four stars as the recipe was written. The taste is 5-star, but the instructions resulted in two little dry blobs of white flour in one of my mini loaves!!! Unacceptable! I would have been mortified had I served this to company!! I think the steps need to be amended as follows: CREAM butter and sugar, ADD eggs, one at a time, mixing after each addition, MIX in mashed banana, MIX in DRY ingredients to WET in three batches, scraping down after each, STIR in nuts. It makes no sense and serves no purpose that I can see to *stir* in banana, eggs or dry ingredients. They need *mixing* to be thoroughly incorporated. I added 1 tsp vanilla and 2 tsp cinnamon. Used dark brown sugar/white in a 3:1 ratio. Pecans instead of walnuts. Have not tasted anything this great in a LOOOONG time! The crust is fabulous, banana flavor is great, moisture is awesome! And I read it will be better tomorrow!! Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1720 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
FINALLY! Someone who KNOWS what banana nut bread is supposed to be! Like others, I added 1/2 tsp baking powder, used half white and half dark brown sugar, and used pecans instead of walnuts. This is JUST LIKE MOMS! Thank you so much! I had tried two other recipes from this website and they turned out to be more like banana nut dessert cake, THIS is banana nut bread, it has substance! I used 3x8 loaf pans (it filled them just right), reduced the temp to 325, and cooked for about 70 minutes. They were a little too brown on the top, but that's just my bad electric oven, the humidity, and the combo of unbleached flour and dark brown sugar most likely. Mom would be proud of this bread! If you want something healthy to snack on, eat a luna bar, if you want something tasty, eat this bread! PS: If anyone wants to save a bowl and skip a step, I just mixed the wet mix as directed, then dumped the salt, baking soda, baking powder, and flour on top and mixed it all in at once. It turned out FINE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
787 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
This is a great recipe for banana bread! What I love about it is its intense flavor. It's is unlike most banana breads in that it is very dense and quite moist. You can taste the butter in this bread along with the bananas--it practically melts in your mouth! My house smelled so YUMMY as the loaves baked. My family and I went through both loaves in just two days. Caution! It is highly addicting and hard to stay away from! The only changes I made to this recipe were #1. I added 2 tsp. vanilla #2. I used chopped pecans instead of walnuts & #3. I baked for 55 minutes instead of 60-70 minutes (this would have overcooked/burned the loaves)I have a 4 year old oven that bakes evenly/accurately. I would check the loaves of bread at 55 minutes before allowing them to cook any longer. This recipe easily earns 5 stars! My kids & hubby can't wait for the bananas to over-ripen! It would be hard to flub this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
537 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Wonderful recipe! I, too, added 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp vanilla, and an extra 1/2 cup of walnuts. I also split the sugars between white and brown. This made 3 8x3" loaves (baked for 1 hour).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Oh me, oh my!!! In the name of watching my girlish figure, I substituted Splenda for the sugar, Smart Balance Light for the butter, and Egg Beaters for the eggs ... and I STILL can't stay away from it! Best of all, it's only 90 calories a serving with these alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I have made this recipe twice. For some reason it does not rise right. The taste is perfect.my baking soda is fresh so I can't figure out what is wrong. Is anyone else having this problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
I couldn't resist this recipe for some reason. I passed on the one from this site with over 2000 reviews to see if this was as great as everyone said. The reviews on the "other" one were really mixed not like this which were mostly 4 and 5 stars unless something went wrong. I used 1 cup of white sugar and 1 of brown. Used 1 tsp. each vanilla and allspice and had just barely 2 cups of bananas (4 whole bananas)I mixed the butter sugar mixture really smooth and added 1/2 the bananas to that as well so some were chunkier and some smooth and i also whipped the 4 eggs with the beater to get them fluffy. Made one with walnuts and one without for picky family members. just by the smell and picking off part of the top i already knew it was going to be a hit! I was concerned with the amount of sugar but looks like i had nothing to worry about because it's fantastic!! Mine took exactly 1 hour and could have used about 55 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4FIVE05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
REDUCED FAT variety!! Holy COW is this GOOD!It's scary good! I have never in my life had better banana nut bread!I used Smart Balance instead of the butter, and I included the 1 tsp of baking powder, 1 tsp of cinn. and 1 tsp of vanilla as recommended by others. I made it in two loaf pans and it was done in 45 minutes. It is incredibly moist and not at all dense... very light. Perfect in every sense!Everybody who has had a slice immediately goes mmmmmmmmm...I had to force myself to stop eating it long enough to write this review!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
After viewing some of the suggestions, I added a teaspoon of vanilla, a teaspoon of cinnamon, replaced half of the white sugar with brown sugar, decreased the oven time to 55 minutes at 335 degrees. Dark, moist, dense, flavorful, and delicious! Great plain or with cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This banana bread was delish!!!! We couldn't stop eating it, especially my 5 year old!!! I used pecans instead of walnuts, and it was still good. ONE THING I STRESS THOUGH, WATCH YOUR BANANA BREAD AFTER ABOUT 40 MINUTES OF BAKING. I checked on mine at 45 minutes, and it was perfect, any more time, and it would have been dry like other people have complained about. I forgot to state that I added a tsp of cinnamon and vanilla to it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,406) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States