Extreme Banana Nut Bread 'EBNB' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
This recipe is described as a "very flexible" recipe, but it did not take well to baking in muffin tins for 20-25 minutes like most banana bread recipes do. If I had watched the video tips and noticed how very little rise this recipe has, I would not have tried it. The muffins actually sank into the tins! The bottom of each muffin stuck to the tins despite greasing and flouring the tins. And the flavor that everyone is madly raving about? Salt and sugar. This is a very salty, cloyingly sweet banana nut bread. It was moist, and had a nice crunch to the top - for that, the recipe gets two stars. Otherwise it was a waste of good ingredients and I would not bake it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
OMGoodness!!! This is the best ever!!! My husband works out of town 2 weeks at a time and when I go see him I try to bring something homemade for him and his crew. My husband and his buddies beg for this lol. They can't get enough. I usually bake at least 4 loaves to take to them and it disappears within a shift lol. I do add a little vanilla and cinninmon to it just kinda eyeball it. It this the ulitimate bnb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mattie Zieniewicz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Awesome! I had some over ripe bananas that I didn't want to throw away, so I went looking for a recipe and found this little gem. After reading the reviews, I cut the butter to 3/4 cup, and added a tsp each of cinnamon, baking powder, and nutmeg, and about a tsp and a half of vanilla. I couldn't help but add a few shakes of pumpkin pie and apple pie spice. I also substituted pecans for walnuts (since I didn't have any walnuts), and added raisins. It made enough for 24 muffins. I used 1 cup of white sugar, a 1/2 cup light brown sugar, and a 1/2 cup of dark brown sugar. I baked at 325° for 30-35 minutes. Like many others, mine didn't rise much, but the texture and flavor was perfect. I may add more baking powder next for more rise, but they are super yummy. Will make again! Thanks, OP, for a great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMichelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Fabulously dense and rich recipe. I'm not one for sweets, but my husband raves about it. I've had a few bites and know enough to praise the taste and texture. I always use pecans instead of walnuts. I add dry to wet ingredients and mix on medium low speed. The fourth time making it, due to what was on hand, I used 1.5 cups white sugar/.5 cup brown sugar, 1.5 cup bananas/.5 cup plain Greek yogurt. Came out wonderful. Good to know the recipe is top drawer even with minor modifications if you run short of ingredients. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
No changes at all! At first I thought I'd done something wrong. It was very dark and dense. I thought I'd burned them. However, this recipe is amazing! Best banana bread ever! I'm waiting for my bananas to ripen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I added a tablespoon of cinnamon. So good! Best Banana Bread I ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauren Love
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Ill start off by saying wow! This bread is killer!! And add to that, i accidently used half the amt of butter it called for!! I used half a stick of butter and equal amt of coconut oil.. Also added less sugar and half that was raw brown sugar.. Baked it at like 320 for 35 minutes and it turned out really moist and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Love

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I used Irish butter. It was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I get rave reviews every time I bake this bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Touchston

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I made this today since we were forced in doors. It is really good the only thing was the timing was off, Mine was done in 33 minutes, my oven is not a great oven so it could be right for a normal oven, but we all loved it. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,499) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States