Extra Extra Rich Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I added an egg and switched the sugar and cocoa like others and they were rich and delicious and deeply chocolatey. I will make again but only cook for 15 to 17 minutes as the sides were a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I baked these last night and they tasted delicious. The texture was not that awesome. I did switch the cocoa and sugar measurements like someone suggested. I think next time im going to add a few eggs because they were just too gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
There is something otherwordly about this recipe...I'm not sure if this is a divine recipe, or hellspawn, there is one thing I'm sure of, though...these brownies are the way to nirvana. Made them twice, first time took them out a bit early and they ended up being "spoonies", only edible from the pan using a spoon, no problem with that. Second time, I made them perfect and shared some pieces with some friends. We all ended up licking our spoons moaning in pleasure, but also grunting in disgust...I do not know. I think this might just be the beginning of a new religion. Something more technical in nature: I never use sweetened cocoa, so I substituted the same quantity with 1 part sugar/2 parts cocoa instead...also added some cinnamon, vanilla and bourbon, and I can assure you, this is the way to go if you're ok with alcohol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
These brownies tasted...interesting. I can't quite put my finger on it, but these tasted off. I made it because I had everything this needed. But it just tasted like a brown tire. I would've given it one star, but this had a hint of chocolatiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isabella in NE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I was in a baking mood but realized we had no eggs in the house! So I looked up and found this recipe and went by what other reviewers said and switched the amounts of cocoa and sugar. I also used 1 cup of milk because we had no evaporated milk. We also had very little vanilla extract left. However, in the end, I added about 1/4 cup more of flour and about 1/8 cup more of sugar until the consistency and texture was just right. Then I poured into a cupcake tray (because the volume in our square tray wasn't enough) and put it in. Took them about 25 minutes later and they were perfect! :) Also used my own custom frosting/icing recipe, but everything worked out and it was delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I made these tonight and didn't like at all. I tried to make them without the frosting, they were just bad. We had to throw away the whole batch. I was trying to use up ingredients I had already in my pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
this was not to my liking. i switched the sugar and cocoa like previous users have recommended and watched it closely so it didn't overbake. well the center was a goopy mess that wouldn't come out of the pan, and the edges were perfect. it tasted awful though. i couldn't rate it less than one star even though i would have. i will not use this again and will remove it from my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvie TorokNagy Murray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I loved them! I reduced the amount of cocoa to 1 cup and added 1/2 cup of chocolate chips because...why not? YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
very cocoa-y and crumbly. I made sure not to over-cook them, but they are so soft they fall apart. If you like a lot of cocoa taste, you'll like them. I didn't use the icing because I felt that would be way too much cocoa flavor. I really only tried this recipe because I wanted brownies and I had a can of evaporated milk to use up. I think I'll stick to my nestle brownie recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey_Road
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I think maybe leaving the eggs out is a bad idea. These turned out very dry. The icing helps but you will need a gallon of milk to get one of the little guys down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States