Extra Extra Rich Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I baked these last night and they tasted delicious. The texture was not that awesome. I did switch the cocoa and sugar measurements like someone suggested. I think next time im going to add a few eggs because they were just too gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
There is something otherwordly about this recipe...I'm not sure if this is a divine recipe, or hellspawn, there is one thing I'm sure of, though...these brownies are the way to nirvana. Made them twice, first time took them out a bit early and they ended up being "spoonies", only edible from the pan using a spoon, no problem with that. Second time, I made them perfect and shared some pieces with some friends. We all ended up licking our spoons moaning in pleasure, but also grunting in disgust...I do not know. I think this might just be the beginning of a new religion. Something more technical in nature: I never use sweetened cocoa, so I substituted the same quantity with 1 part sugar/2 parts cocoa instead...also added some cinnamon, vanilla and bourbon, and I can assure you, this is the way to go if you're ok with alcohol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
These brownies tasted...interesting. I can't quite put my finger on it, but these tasted off. I made it because I had everything this needed. But it just tasted like a brown tire. I would've given it one star, but this had a hint of chocolatiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isabella in NE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I was in a baking mood but realized we had no eggs in the house! So I looked up and found this recipe and went by what other reviewers said and switched the amounts of cocoa and sugar. I also used 1 cup of milk because we had no evaporated milk. We also had very little vanilla extract left. However, in the end, I added about 1/4 cup more of flour and about 1/8 cup more of sugar until the consistency and texture was just right. Then I poured into a cupcake tray (because the volume in our square tray wasn't enough) and put it in. Took them about 25 minutes later and they were perfect! :) Also used my own custom frosting/icing recipe, but everything worked out and it was delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I made these tonight and didn't like at all. I tried to make them without the frosting, they were just bad. We had to throw away the whole batch. I was trying to use up ingredients I had already in my pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
this was not to my liking. i switched the sugar and cocoa like previous users have recommended and watched it closely so it didn't overbake. well the center was a goopy mess that wouldn't come out of the pan, and the edges were perfect. it tasted awful though. i couldn't rate it less than one star even though i would have. i will not use this again and will remove it from my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYLVIETOROK-NAGY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I loved them! I reduced the amount of cocoa to 1 cup and added 1/2 cup of chocolate chips because...why not? YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
very cocoa-y and crumbly. I made sure not to over-cook them, but they are so soft they fall apart. If you like a lot of cocoa taste, you'll like them. I didn't use the icing because I felt that would be way too much cocoa flavor. I really only tried this recipe because I wanted brownies and I had a can of evaporated milk to use up. I think I'll stick to my nestle brownie recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey_Road
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I think maybe leaving the eggs out is a bad idea. These turned out very dry. The icing helps but you will need a gallon of milk to get one of the little guys down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
The taste cocoa over powers everything else. and the frosting is just as bad. i don't recommend this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States