Extra Easy Pumpkin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Whether you like these or not will probably depend on what you're looking for. I used a stick of butter rather than the applesauce to end up with something less cake like. I still ended up with little "cakeys." If I use this recipe again, I will probably make as muffins. I used a carrot cake mix, and didn't add the other spices, because I was making them for children. Flavor is good! They could use a little punching up with some chocolate or white chocolate chips. Not bad, but not 5 stars either. Make them as muffins with a cream cheese frosting:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Based on the cake like consistency, I went with muffins instead of cookies and baked for about 20 minutes. I also added cinnamon chips and raisins. A true winner! My mom does these as mini-muffins too, and they are a great bite size treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssaloof

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Incredible! I made one change to the recipe. As another reviewer suggested to substitute applesauce for butter. Since I didn't have applesauce, I used 1/3 cup butter and they turned out to be the best pumpkin chocolate chip cookies I've ever had! Plus they are so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
These are just like the other reviewers described. Muffin Tops. Added Chocolate Chips and baked for 12 minutes in my gas oven. 14 year old gives them five stars. 17 year old said 4 stars. They smell good. Would be better as muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA
Photo by Jharmon40
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I used Pumpkin Spice Kisses to top them off which made them very pretty! I also rolled them with sugar before baking them (they are very sticky so I used 2 spoons to scoop and shape them, as well as dipping them in the sugar! Didn't have to get my hands sticky this way!) These are an easy and fun fall cookie. I'm not sure why there is any confusion...these are cake mix cookies so they will have a cake-like texture (not your normal "cookie" texture but more of a sponge-like feel to them!) I like them cold from the refrigerator!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon40

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
these are awesome and my 4 yr old loved helping me make them. super easy and super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Just a tiny bit too cake like for me, but then again what do you expect with a cookie recipe with cake mix?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This was a very yummy recipe. I didn't have the apple sauce so I used butter. I've also tried spice cake and yellow cake and I think I prefer the yellow cake with extra spices added. It is a very fluffy cookie, so expect that. After baking they tasted like they need a little something so I drizzled a little glaze (powdered sugar mixed with milk) over them and they turned out nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockledge, Florida, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
SUPER EASY! These would be perfect for woopie pies. I used German Chocolate Cake Mix and added some instant coffee to make Pumpkin Mocha Cakesters. So moist!! I also used oil instead of apple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scarlett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
These were a hit at a potluck, everyone wanted the recipe! I put a little bit of whipped cream cheese frosting on to give it a little color, I think it also helped the flavor. yes these are "cakey" but you're using a packaged cake mix, it should be kind of expected. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States