Extra Easy Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
I made this the first time by the recipe exactly. I missed the sesame flavor without the sesame paste, but liked the reduced fat/calorie idea. The second time I made it, I decided to use sesame oil instead of olive oil. This way, the calorie/fat difference was negligible, but the sesame flavor was included--YUMMY!! I also doubled the garlic and halved the cumin, as others suggested. I used 1 T lemon juice and added bean juice, as needed, during the blending process. For those on WW, 1/4 of this recipe is 2 points...put it on cucumber spears or carrot chips and you can't go wrong! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
734 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
great recipe, if you are looking an alternative to hummus without tahini. i doubled the garlic, halfed the cumin, added a few shakes of ground red pepper, and some lemon juice. you really need to add a little lemon, otherwise the recipe just isn't has "bright". i really enjoyed this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
484 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
This hummus was pretty good, but it was sort of bland. It was a lot better after adding paprika, a few drops of chili oil, and some sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
316 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPELTRONG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
OMG! Who would've thought a little can of garbanzo beans could transform into something so delicous! It doesn't get easier or much simpler than this! I put everything into a mini food processor, used sesame oil vs. olive oil and upped the garlic. I also added in the reserved bean liquid as needed along with a splash of lemon juice. I served it topped with a bit of paprika and surrounded by homemade pita chips - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
"Impressive" my very picky husband concluded. He thought it was really good; I thought it was really good. The only thing this recipe was missing was lemon juice. After tasting it I knew it needed a little zip and some of the other recipes had called for it. Just what it needed. I just used the bottled stuff I had in the fridge and that worked wonders! Also, I didn't actually measure out the spices, so I can't verify that the portions given in this are correct. I'm pretty positive I didn't use the entire amount of cumin called for. I also used kosher salt. If you like garlic, I added an extra clove and I loved it. If your mix is gritty at all, don't fret. Just add a little more oil or lemon juice and blend more in the food processor. I think this would have not worked well in the blender. I served it with homemade naan bread and cucumbers. DELICIOUS!! (The first time I made I just ate it with some corn chips and it was great with that too.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Snowflake, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
I made two variations on this recipe. I left out the cumin and added fresh ground pepper. To one batch I added sun-dried tomatoes and a little crushed red pepper to taste. That was REALLY yummy. To the other batch I added chili paste, minced ginger, soy sauce to taste. The chili paste gives it a real kick. I'm thinking kalamata olives and artichokes may work, too. Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferguson, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2001
This recipe is yummy and easy to make. It is even better if you blend in the juice of half a lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
My girl scout troop made this, and it was a big hit with them! Parents are now asking for this recipe. Note: I liked it even better with 1/2 teaspoon of lemon juice added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
Delicious and easy. My two-year old and I made this together, and she thinks it is yummy too! Leaving out the tahini saves a lot of calories. Try it with a tablespoon of dijon mustard blended in for a more grown-up taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
This was really good, and easy to make. Tastes even better the next day after the flavor has time to combine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States