Extra Easy Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Was not a fan of this at all, even though i really wanted to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Very good base recipe but needs a lil something. I added 1/4 tsp of cayenne, extra lemon, garlic powder and dried onion to taste. Even though my last ingredient sour cream is not very traditional, it made it creamier and added more protein. I used organic reduced fat sour cream and the final result was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Yum! We have sesame allergies in the family so this was perfect and my picky 2 year old loves it and she never tries anything new. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIEJUNKIE
Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
So easy. I skipped the salt to make it more healthy for my infant and toddler and I thought it was still tasty! Will try adding lemon juice and paprika next time for a little extra zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Loved it! Only 4 stars b/c I didn't follow the recipe exactly. But that's what the reviews are for, right? Per others' advice, I rinsed and peeled the garbanzo beans. (A little time-consuming, but easy and kinda fun - they squish right out of their skins!) Used 2 big cloves of garlic, only about 1 1/2 tsp of cumin, only a little sprinkling of salt, 1 T olive oil, 1 T lemon juice, a little paprika, and some sesame seeds that were on sale. I wanted a hummus recipe without tahini b/c my regular grocery doesn't have it and I'm too lazy to go to the fancy store. But they carry sesame seeds and sesame oil! Considered subbing sesame oil for the olive oil, but the seeds were cheaper and I'm not sure what else I would use sesame oil for. Added about half of the bean juice back in (gradually, of course!) and processed the heck out of it to make it super smooth and creamy (peeling the beans helps the texture, too.) Sprinkled a little more paprika on top to make it pretty and let it sit in the fridge overnight before taking it to work for potluck, where it was a HUGE hit. I just finished eating the scant leftovers and wish I had more, so I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin229
Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Good, but I agree with other reviews that it's a bit bland. I mixed in some homemade taco seasoning (about a tbsp, no salt added) and now have a taco-ish flavored hummus that is quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Easy and delicious (and healthy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Great base recipe, as I didn't have tahini on hand. Only giving 4 stars because it required many adjustments for flavor: I used sesame oil instead of olive oil, fresh lemon juice instead of canned bean juice for texture, fresh parsley, extra garlic, and cayenne pepper to taste. Toasted some pita and had an excellent study snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nursesarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
yum! gave only 4 stars because you do have to add in a few changes per other reviews :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel.castlen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Yummy! I tweaked the recipe a bit by using 1/2 the cumin, doubling the garlic and adding 3 sun dried tomatoes. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 453) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States