Extra Easy Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
I made this the first time by the recipe exactly. I missed the sesame flavor without the sesame paste, but liked the reduced fat/calorie idea. The second time I made it, I decided to use sesame oil instead of olive oil. This way, the calorie/fat difference was negligible, but the sesame flavor was included--YUMMY!! I also doubled the garlic and halved the cumin, as others suggested. I used 1 T lemon juice and added bean juice, as needed, during the blending process. For those on WW, 1/4 of this recipe is 2 points...put it on cucumber spears or carrot chips and you can't go wrong! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
721 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
great recipe, if you are looking an alternative to hummus without tahini. i doubled the garlic, halfed the cumin, added a few shakes of ground red pepper, and some lemon juice. you really need to add a little lemon, otherwise the recipe just isn't has "bright". i really enjoyed this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
476 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
This hummus was pretty good, but it was sort of bland. It was a lot better after adding paprika, a few drops of chili oil, and some sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
311 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPELTRONG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
OMG! Who would've thought a little can of garbanzo beans could transform into something so delicous! It doesn't get easier or much simpler than this! I put everything into a mini food processor, used sesame oil vs. olive oil and upped the garlic. I also added in the reserved bean liquid as needed along with a splash of lemon juice. I served it topped with a bit of paprika and surrounded by homemade pita chips - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
"Impressive" my very picky husband concluded. He thought it was really good; I thought it was really good. The only thing this recipe was missing was lemon juice. After tasting it I knew it needed a little zip and some of the other recipes had called for it. Just what it needed. I just used the bottled stuff I had in the fridge and that worked wonders! Also, I didn't actually measure out the spices, so I can't verify that the portions given in this are correct. I'm pretty positive I didn't use the entire amount of cumin called for. I also used kosher salt. If you like garlic, I added an extra clove and I loved it. If your mix is gritty at all, don't fret. Just add a little more oil or lemon juice and blend more in the food processor. I think this would have not worked well in the blender. I served it with homemade naan bread and cucumbers. DELICIOUS!! (The first time I made I just ate it with some corn chips and it was great with that too.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Snowflake, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
I made two variations on this recipe. I left out the cumin and added fresh ground pepper. To one batch I added sun-dried tomatoes and a little crushed red pepper to taste. That was REALLY yummy. To the other batch I added chili paste, minced ginger, soy sauce to taste. The chili paste gives it a real kick. I'm thinking kalamata olives and artichokes may work, too. Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferguson, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2001
This recipe is yummy and easy to make. It is even better if you blend in the juice of half a lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
My girl scout troop made this, and it was a big hit with them! Parents are now asking for this recipe. Note: I liked it even better with 1/2 teaspoon of lemon juice added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
Delicious and easy. My two-year old and I made this together, and she thinks it is yummy too! Leaving out the tahini saves a lot of calories. Try it with a tablespoon of dijon mustard blended in for a more grown-up taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
This was really good, and easy to make. Tastes even better the next day after the flavor has time to combine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 434) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States