Extra Easy Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Lesson learned: Listen to the WRITER and not the reviewers. 2 cloves of garlic is way too much for this - should have listened to the writer. Good, easy hummus. Takes seriously 5 minutes to make. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I made this with the following changes: Only 1/2 tsp of cumin, and I added about a cup of sun dried tomatoes I lightly sauteed in the herbed oil it came in (BJ's brand, Berkley and jensen imported from Italy..which are THE BEST I have ever had! I couldn't believe it was their brand..LOL) then put the tomatoes and the oil in the food processor and added the difference w/olive oil. This was sooo good! I tried some w/tahini and just don't like the flavor of it...so this one was great! :) I also added juice of 1/2 a lemon...and a bit of water only because I forgot to save the juice from the chick peas which I would definitely add next time to make it a bit softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Delicious and easy! Took the advice from a few other reviews and added 1 tbs of crushed red pepper, and only 1 tsp of cumin. Also added slightly more olive oil. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This was pretty good. I subbed sesame oil for olive oil, added paprika, cayenne, and halfed the cumin/doubled the garlic as suggested. Yum! thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I jazzed this up as others suggested with lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This tasted nothing like any hummus I'd ever tasted. I'm pretty sure there was entirely too much cumin in this recipe! I followed the directions exactly, and what resulted was a waste of a can of garbanzo beans. I tried to "doctor it up" and tone down the flavor of the cumin, but it was really no good. I would recommend using a different recipe all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VTsCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Added some lemon juice, as recommended by others, and didn't exactly measure the other ingredients. My 6 year old daughter gobbled it up, but my 4 year old son apparently has not yet acquired the taste!! I'll keep trying with him, because I really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Won't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Very easy and it wasn't bad. Followed Carrie's adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Like the title says, this recipe is extra easy. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is it is a little bland. After tasting it, I added a few drops of sesame oil. I am going to try it again, but next time I am going to add Serrano chilies and cilantro, or maybe sun dried tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States