Extra Easy Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Very good recipe!! I doubled the garlic, used half the cumin and added about a Tbsp. of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chowchick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Linton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
This was really tastey. My 4 year old and 2 year old couldnt get enough of it, and neither could I. We used it as a dip for carrot sticks. Definitly going to make this again. I used dried garbanzo beans, by getting them prepared and using half a lb of them. Other then that the only thing I changed was using the juice of half a lemon, and in my portion I added some red pepper flakes to give it a little spice. Debated on 4 or 5 stars because the lemon juice was so important, but its such a great base recipe that I just had to give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I enjoy this simple recipe very much. I throw in some avocado, lemon juice and bell pepper and Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Delicious! Was very easy to make. I did make some adjustments based on some of the other revues. I used 1/2 the cumin, added a couple squeezes of lemon juice, a tbsp of crushed red pepper. I didn't have any fresh garlic, so I used the jarred minced garlic. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Very good recipe without the tahini.. i love the garlc flavor so I added 2 more cloves of garlic and it was perfect! Will definetly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Kealakekua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I made this for a quick and healthy lunch. I also liked the fact that it did not have any tahini which is hard to find and expensive. I have made it before without it, but wanted to try a specific recipe. I followed the recipe except I cut the cumin in half as I am not a big fan of that spice. I also added a squeeze of fresh lemon juice as others suggested. I thought it tasted pretty good. I did use a hand emulsion blender to save time. After it was mixed I put it on a plate with a little olive oil on top and sprinkled with paprika and dried parsley. The consistency was a little less thick without the tahini, and the spice and garlic taste came out a little stronger, but it must have still been pretty good because a lot of it got eaten. I did find that it is best made fresh, as the spice and garlic will get stronger as it sits in the fridge, but it is quick and easy to make anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This is so tasty, simple and CHEAP compared to store-bought hummus. I used the first reviewer's suggestion about sesame oil, and then halved the cumin and doubled the garlic for my own taste. Thanks for a healthy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Very quick and easy, tastes great. It is a more familiar American taste since it doesn't have the Tahini and lemon juice of other hummus but it does taste wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I use 1 t. cumin and 2 cloves garlic. I also add about a quarter cup roasted red pepper, and lastly I use the juice from a half a lemon. Fantastic stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
this is nice exactly as is. If you want it spicy, you may have to add more cumin or pepper or something, but for a nice, mild hummus -- this is great. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 430) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States