Exquisite Yeastless Focaccia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2007
This recipe was pretty good, but there's one really important thing: a whole teaspoon of cayenne pepper is way too much. 1/4 tsp would have been much better. Also, it didn't rise as much as I thought it would, but that's probably just because it has no yeast. I will make this again, but I will have to experiment with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 2tee
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
This was a pretty good recipe overall. I did make a few changes to the dough. Instead of using all white flour i used half white and half whole wheat, it came out delicious. As for topping my focaccia i added fresh ground pepper, rosemary, and carmalized onions. As it started to bake i could smell the rosemary aroma wafting in the room. When i removed the bread from the oven i let it sit for about 5 minutes, then cut into it. The edges where crispy, not like the normal kind of edges you'd get if you make the yeast kind focaccia,i also think it's partly because when i tried to make the focaccia fit the pan the edges where the thinnest part. The middle of the pan is nice and soft. Overall it's a good recipes, but i'll probably try the yeast kind and compare it later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2tee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
excelent base and sooo easy! top it any way you want, I used finely choped green onion,thym, sage, oregano, garlic powder, basil, cayene, grated marble cheese and lots of rosemary. It came out perfect! It also makes a good pizza crust if you stretch it out over a large round pan, then top it with sauce, cheese and whatever your heart desires! I have made it both ways many times, with many variations, always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toaster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I love the spice mix! Definitely mix the spices together before you sprinkle them on for an even coating and flavor. Thanks for sharing I make this all the time!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
No one liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Lawrence Burns

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
The dough turned out crunchy instead of fluffy. I know I should have seen it coming because of the absence of yeast, but I was hopeful anyways. I wouldn't make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
it was as I expected, all in all. doesn't rise much, but no wonder; it's ok when you have little time but want focaccia anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This was absolutely delicious! Even my four children loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Very Good I would make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mistressbobbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was tasty. Not like traditional focaccia, but yummy all the same. I topped mine with carmalized onions, garlic, and feta cheese. It was not hard at all as other reviewers mentioned. Maybe they made it too thin? I followed recipe, and it did not cover the entire bottom of the pan. I could have made it in an 8x8 and filled it edge to edge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Montrose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States