Exquisite Pizza Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
This is a great pizza sauce recipe. I multiplied the recipe by 6 and canned it what I didn't use on the pizza I made for dinner. I didn't have anchovy paste or honey and I left out the cayenne pepper purposely to keep the heat down. I added sugar to taste, which ended up being about 1 1/2 tablespoons. You need some sugar to keep the balance of flavors with the spicy peppers and the bitter of the tomato. I also had to substitute one whole minced onion, and about 4 cloves of fresh garlic for the powder since I didn't have powdered. I blended everything after cooking to make a smooth velvety sauce. Overall, this recipe is very easy and it tastes great. It is easily substituted for what you have on hand or personal taste preferences. My personal tastes: I added one cup of dry red wine and let everything simmer for an hour before canning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I made it a little spicier and it is fantastic. Best pizza sauce I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Millersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I used this recipe to make individual pizzas for my daughter's birthday party and they were a hit! I love that I don't have to cook the sauce. It was thick, had a bit of a kick, and was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
YUM!!!! I have never before made a pizza sauce that I didn't have to cook and I admit that I was skeptical, but the lack of time I had to prepare the sauce and the reviews persuaded me to try this recipe. Wow, I am sure glad I did! I had to leave the cayenne pepper out because my husband is a spice wuss and I omitted the anchovy paste on principle, but other than that I followed the recipe just the way it is written. Amazing doesn't begin to cover it. It is tangy, spicy, sweet and perfect in my book. I have all ready passed this recipe on to others who love it as much as we do. Thank you, thank you, thank you! Pizza night may never be the same again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
This is a really great sauce, with a nice kick to it. I did leave out the anchovies, but next time I am going to man up and put them in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I left out the cayenne and red pepper flakes, and used 1/2 tsp. sugar instead of the honey. Absolutely perfect and so easy! Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
made this on May 2 2014 followed recipe exactly as written this is a 5 star recipe and as all of you already know it is much better the following day once the spices and flavors blend the only recipe I will use from now on no more buying jarred pizza sauce from the store by the way some others said the sauce was to sweet I will admit it seemed to be right after I made this but after sitting in the fridge overnight I feel that it was no longer an issue make this a day ahead first then try it to decide the sweetness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I made grilled pizza while camping using this sauce, it was great. I made a couple extra pizzas and shared with other people camping they told me it was one of the best pizzas they have has. I used all fresh ingredients and made my own dough as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I found it to be a bit on the sweet side so I added a bit more of the spices and then cooked it for a few minutes. It turned out really well. I got enough for 2 12" pizzas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle McLeod

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This is so good. I did not use the anchovy paste because I didn't have it, but I'll tell ya, didn't matter! I let this stuff sit out for an hour while I chopped veggies and kept tasting it. Seriously I ate half of it before it even hit the pizza crusts. Also, had only crushed garlic...still the best sauce ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kimberly, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,670) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States