Exquisite Pizza Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Angie, thanks for posting this. We loved it! I took other reviewers suggestions and cut the honey; I used 1 tablespoon of clover honey for 2 recipes. I also simmered the sauce and added the cheese after the sauce cooled for 15 minutes. I used 1 teaspoon of Kosher salt and ground all dry ingredients in a spice grinder so the salt and pepper flakes had a fine consistency; this also insures the spices are completely blended. I didn't use anchovy paste but opted for Worcestershire Sauce. Next time, I may cut back on the cheese a bit. We smoked our pizzas on the Big Green Egg on a stone at 500-600 degrees. This was the best Pizza night yet! Thanks again for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
My husband loves this sauce. I did not use honey because I am not a fan of sweet sauces. I did not use cayenne powder but I did use the pepper flakes, I did not want to make it too spicy for the kids. And I did not use anchovies. I only took out those three things and left the rest of it the same and it was great. Extremely easy to whip together and could definitely make ahead of time and refrigerate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Delicious sauce!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Just finished eating the pie. The sauce was awesome. Both my husband and I thought it was too sweet though. We love spicy so I don't think cutting back on the honey will make it too spicy (as one reviewer mentioned). Will definitely make again. ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Quite a tasty sauce, nice zing to it. I might reduce the cayenne/flakes just a tiny bit depending on the audience next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NeonDials
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I use this recipe a lot and cook it for my family when my mom lets me. I personally love it and there's always extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This was FABULOUS! It was a little on the sweet side, which I liked, but if that's not up your alley then I'd half the honey. I did cook this on a stovetop for maybe 20-30 minutes just below a simmer to help meld the flavors a little bit. Absolutely loved this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I used about half the honey and did not include the anchovy paste. My husband and I thought it was very tasty. I will probably use a bit less cayenne or red pepper flakes next time, though, since the flavor overpowered our toppings. Nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
YUM. I made a Hawaiian pizza and used this sauce-perfect for it!! I will definitely use it over and over! I didn't find it too sweet or too spicy and I normally don't do spicy. Didn't have anchovy paste..next time I will try it and see if it's even better!! Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Tried this last night and it was excellent. I didn't have oregano, marjoram or basil so I subbed 3/4 tsp of italian seasoning which includes all of those items. I did not add anchovy paste and only used about a teaspoon of honey. I ended up using about 1/4 tsp of salt which seemed perfect but because I loaded my pizza w/ tons of onions, mushrooms and peppers (which I didn't season) I found the salt lacking. So keep your toppings in mind and adjust accordingly. Thanks Angie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,670) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States