Exquisite Pizza Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
My go-to pizza sauce. Beats jar sauce anyday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN29URSERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I haven't had anchovy paste to use and I use canned diced tomatoes that I blend the ingredients in my bullet first, then cook. Comes out amazing every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Highly recommended. Make it EXACTLY as written, any alterations could only diminish your results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
8/22/14-I used this recipe for homemade French bread pizzas and it was excellent. I was trying to control my budget by using what I had on hand and I needed to know how to flavor with tomato paste as the base. I had all of the ingredients and it was a perfect mix of sweet and savory. I had half a can of leftover tomato paste and another unopened in the cupboard which necessitated 1 & 1/2-ing the recipe. We always like more sauce. This gave us plenty to cover 8 french bread pizzas about 6 inches long each. I will use it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I'll never use another pizza sauce recipe. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Don't do spicy so cut that out. Was super fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcarling

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
loved this. I did cut the honey in half per other reviews although I think it would have been great as is! In my opinion, pizza sauce is supposed to be a bit sweet. Delicious. This will now be my go to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I followed the recipe almost to the letter (no honey or salt at all at first, anchovy fillets rather than paste, and put all ingredients in a food processor). After letting sauce sit at room temp, I thought it tasted very good, but wanted a lot more kick (and some sweetness/honey). Added a tsp of honey, more oregano, basil, anchovy (not for everybody, I know), and cayenne. Then I cooked it on low for an hour. The flavors really developed (so much that I think it would be delicious over pasta).I give this four stars for a wonderful starter recipe that any cook can then season to taste. I look forward to making this again, and tweaking with whatever fresh Italian herbs I have on hand. (For those who don't like too much heat/spice/sweetness/anchovy and therefore rated this recipe low, I'd suggest cutting down on those ingredients to begin with, let the sauce sit, and then decide whether to add the given quantities. Also, if using anchovies, add any additional salt only after the sauce has been allowed to sit, according to taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Agave nectar and fresh red peppers with local tomatoes in the sauce. Can't describe how good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mvmorris1221

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Excellent pizza sauce, my only complaint is that it is far too sweet for our tastes. We cut the honey in half or less, and it's wonderful. I suggest adding it at the end a little at a time until you get the sweetness you like. A small splash of red wine vinegar in the water also adds a little zing. We also do a fresh version using garden ingredients -- tomatos, basic, and oregano. Also use fresh onion and garlic, and throw in some more fresh herbs like thyme and rosemary and puree it. It's out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,644) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States