Exquisite Pizza Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This is crazy delicious! I did not add the anchovies and I think it was a bit too sweet. I will decrease the honey next time. Still wonderfully delicious and not at all difficult to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Wow, this really was not a favorite. I am surprised it has so many 5 reviews. The taste is far too tomato pastey for me and seems a little like every 'italian' spice in the drawer was thrown in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Luckily my husband and I both tasted this before I put it on my pizza. The honey did not balance well with the other ingredients and created a funky after taste. When I tried to modify the recipe it made the flavor worse. I ended up throwing the entire batch away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I almost didn't have pizza because I had to fight the urge to just eat the bowl of it with a spoon. I will most certainly be making this one many many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bryandhargrave

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Happy Mistake: I dragged out all the ingredients to make pizza and realized I had no jarred pizza sauce. I jumped on this site and found this recipe. I wanted to double the sauce due to some reviews saying it didn't make much (when in reality I generously sauced two halves of a Pepperidge Farm garlic bread and still had half a canning jar remaining). Anyway -- the happy mistake part comes in where I was distracted by my little ones while making this sauce and I doubled the paste but not the other ingredients (which I didn't realize until the pizza was in the oven). What I did do was sauté the garlic in a sauce pan before adding the sauce and cooking for 5-10 minutes because I didn't have 30 minutes to let it sit per the instructions. I think by cooking it and toasting the garlic, it made the flavors much stronger (as one other reviewer noted). It came out beautifully even with half of everything. Saves money & time this way and has less honey so it's not so sweet (good for the blood sugar). I'll make this again &try it doubling everything but I think this way works just fine. Great EASY recipe. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
yum yum yum yum yum! I slightly reduced the amount of crushed red pepper, otherwise true to the recipe. Used for a large get together where we made homemade pizza - our friends couldn't stop raving about the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Husband loved it first time I made it, but I did not have the marjoram. I thought it was too sweet. Second time I made it with half the honey plus the marjoram and didn't like ti as much. Next I will try it with 3/4 honey and no marjoram.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I made it according to directions and it was too sweet. I made another batch using no sweetener at all and this was perfect for us! It has even replaced our marina sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Great pizza sauce! I left out the anchovy paste, used garlic powder instead of minced garlic, and left out the onion powder. I doubled the recipe and had TONS left over (we made two cookie sheet sized pizzas - there was probably enough sauce left for at least 3 more). Hopefuly this will freeze okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Love this sauce. I put a tad less cayenne and pepper flakes as my hubby thinks its a bit overkill and I leave off the Anchovy paste as I don't have any handy. I let it rest for at least an hour so all the ingredients marry. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,598) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States