Exquisite Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
One of my family's favorite pies! In the South where I grew up, I have heard this pie called Japanese Fruit Pie and Oh-So-Good Pie.It's basically a golden chess pie filling chockful of good things like raisins, pecans, and coconuts. Very toothsome, very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
This pie has a filling similar to a pecan pie, then you add the golden raisins, coconut, and pecans. I put the whole filling in a 9x9 square dish and baked at a lower temperature for longer, and loved the result. Also tried this in a deep pie dish and it turned out very well. When cooked to perfection, pie has a light golden-brown top to it. TIP: Watch closely in oven and check often. A normal depth pie dish will be done before the stated time window. Once the pie is set in the middle, pull out, because it burns quickly afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renae Sattazahn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I added slivered almonds with the pecans and used almond extract instead of vanilla! Wow! tasted like a macaroon. Super easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This pie is delicious. I entered it into a dessert bake off and won!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
The recipe is very easy to put together. I had 2 9" pie shells ready, but there was only enough for one pie shell, so I had to make another recipe. I added 1 T orange juice concentrate in place of the lemon juice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Delicious. I added twice as many pecans as the recipe requested because the filling was a little skimpy to me. Also, the additional pecans made it less sweet which worked out perfect for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
VERY delicious, and seems to be adaptable. Tastes a bit like chess pie, but more complex. I cut down the vanilla to 2t instead of 1T and substituted regular raisins in lieu of golden and it was all good. Other tips: do NOT make this into two pies. I had two deep dish 9" pies and split the batter, then rolled the crust down to the edge of the batter. If you combined into one large pie the top would burn before the middle set, and it's such a rich pie that you wouldn't really want to have a super deep slice. This would go very well with vanilla ice cream. I thought the lemon juice ingredient would impart some lemon flavor - it didn't, and next time I make this I'll be adding some lemon zest and removing the raisins altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIO1
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Don't change a thing. This is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States