Exotic Mushroom and Walnut Pate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
This pate is one of the best dips I've ever had. I sauteed the mushroom ingredients on low, because when cooking with pure butter it burns easily, so I wanted to be careful. I added a splash of white wine, and I slowly cooked the mushrooms for about 45 mins. I also didn't feel like roasting the garlic (it was too hot out), so I added minced garlic to the mushrooms. Next time I'll try it with roast garlic, but it was still fantastic. VERY gourmet, and perfect for a classy event, or wine tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
crazy good! and someday i want to make it exactly as written. however ... i had some shrooms in the fridge that i needed to use up and this recipe caught my eye -- must have been the word "exotic." mine were not, but thought i could sub anyway. oh, wait. walnuts? didn't have any of those either. no shallots. i used regular onions, white and baby bella mushrooms, elephant garlic, all the fresh herbs listed plus sage. for the walnuts -- and this is REALLY nuts! -- i used old-fashioned peanut butter! i made just a little in case it was inedible, but here i sit with my "woven wheat crackers" (didn't have french bread!) chowing down like crazy! thanks for the "exotic" inspiration!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I added dry white wine and a lil extra butter when I cooked the mushrooms down. Then I added a couple tablespoons of finely grated parmesan when I mixed everything together. Delicious! This is definitely something I plan on making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
i love it soooooooooooooooooo much its the best thing i ever made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
An unusual and warm nutty pate. I added a dash of balsamic vinegar, and worcestorshire sauce when the mushrooms were sauteed. I used only button as it had no others in stock , but it still came out great . Used fresh sage too. Also put in a few frops of lemon juice as i was purreing it in the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allhail
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This was just okay. It tasted very mushroomy, which I like, but others said it tasted "dirty" to them. It does have a very earthy flavor. The exotic mushrooms aren't cheap and this took some time to put together. Just wasn't good enough to warrant the expense and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe's nani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Ok, I did not care for this recipe and I LOVE all of the ingrediants. The mushroom mixture was great until I added the walnuts. Even thou I thought that it was not good, I still brought it to the party hoping that it was just my taste buds. No one had more than one bite. I can't even figure out how to fix it. I really want to give it one star but that would give it a very low star rating and deter other people from trying it out on there own. Maybe it was me...but I don't think so. Look at my other reviews and see that I am usually a very possitve reviewer. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I thought this was excellent. The roasted garlic is great - really brings out the woody mushroom flavor. I followed the recipe exactly and molded my pate in a plastic-lined ramekin. I served this with a sesame baguette and sliced green apples. We all loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Amazing! I was blown away, and no one could stop eating it. I often collect wild mushrooms (not for beginners) and am always looking for creative ways to prepare them. This recipe has the potential for endless variations of different nuts and mushrooms, all delicious! A word about mushrooms: 1-wipe clean with a paper towel to remove any debris. 2-discard the stem, it is "tougher" than the cap and may produce a gritty texture in the finished product. 3-initially cook on med-high heat with butter and oil (adding oil increases the smoke point and keeps the butter from burning) to caramelize the mushrooms, (just like caramelized onions, they taste better). Then lower the heat and add non-salted flavored liquid (wine, sherry, etc) and water as necessary to tenderize and finish cooking. I would also like to clarify the amount of walnuts, I believe it is 1 cup of whole walnuts, not chopped, or diced, so adjust accordingly and use a smaller amount of chopped or diced. Take care not to burn the walnuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Yummy! I added a little extra parsley and garlic and a splash of white wine, it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States