Exotic Indian Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
This is a great way to use up that half a head of cabbage you have in the crisper as well as some of those more exotic spices that you don't use much (fenugreek seeds!). I made it without the asefetida because I didn't have any. The dish was tangy and creamy all at the same time. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Beautiful dish. I crushed the whole seed spices a bit with a mortar and pestle. I also used ghee in place of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugaree1485

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Starkville, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I enjoyed this one quite a bit! I was actually looking for a recipe to use up some cabbage and fennel seeds, so I almost passed this one by as I did not have some of the other ingredients. I did not have fenugreek seeds or asafoetida powder, and used ground cumin and coriander instead of the seeds/pods, and yellow ground mustard instead of black mustard seeds. Of course, not exactly the same recipe, but still a delicious alternative to the average fried cabbage recipes. I opted for the kidney beans which made this a really pretty dish - the green/white cabbage, a bit of yellow from the spices and deep red beans. Looking forward to picking up the missing spices and making this one as stated some time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This was absolutely amazing! I was a bit skeptical of a couple of the ingredients - namely the caraway seeds - but it all worked really well. The only changes I made were to use ghee instead of oil, jalapeno instead of serrano, and I omitted the asafoetida powder as I can't find it anywhere. I ended up adding a few more cardamon pods (some black, some green) just because I love the flavor. I made it with kidney beans as I love the color, and prefer the texture over the other suggested beans. Thanks so much, Kay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
A wonderful dish that won rave reviews from our guests! I served it as a side with salmon in coconut milk and naan, but this superb dish offers rich and complex flavors, and deserves to be an entree on its own -- perhaps with saffron rice; or add vegetable broth to make a savory stew. Advice to cooks: If some exotic spices are hard to find, try hard to find at least the fennel seeds and especially the cardamom pods (or seeds -- but NOT ground cardamom). One of the best discoveries I've made on AllRecipes.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly except that I used a cauliflower instead of a cabbage. I love Indian food, but there was at least one spice in there that I didn't like the flavor of. Honestly, I am not sure which spice it was because I have never cooked with many of the spices in the recipe before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
This was good, though I have to say I didn't have all the spices. I added what I had then added some extra hot curry powder. I picked this recipe because I had some extra cabbage left over. It's a great use for that, but I don't think I'll buy the ingredients just for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This was a great, easy side dish. I would reduce the salt to 3/4 tsp next time, but I don't feel the saltiness ruined the dish this time. It was great served with an indian-spiced ground beef skillet dish served with peas and brown rice. An easy, healthy supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
This is pretty tasty. If I make it again, I will use butter, not canola oil, as I think the dish will have a better flavor and mouth feel. I didn't have some of the spices, so I used Madras brand curry powder in addition to the ones I had, as it has them all. Next time I think I'll just use the powder alone. I also crushed/mixed all the spices in my mortar & pestle to get them to blend better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Delish! Envy of the lunch room the next day. I didn't have a fresh chile on hand, so I used 1/8 tsp (maybe more like 1/4 tsp) of cayenne pepper. I also crunched up the whole spice seeds a bit with a mortar and pestle. Oh! and I used cannelini beans (again, on hand). Definite repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States