Exotic Indian Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
I made this with black-eyed peas for New Year's Day, and I will definitely make this one again. I substituted bagged cole slaw mix for the shredded cabbage, which made it extremely quick and convenient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This recipe is very good. You can also use either boiled and diced carrot or potato as a substitute for the beans or even some boiled green peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Delish! Envy of the lunch room the next day. I didn't have a fresh chile on hand, so I used 1/8 tsp (maybe more like 1/4 tsp) of cayenne pepper. I also crunched up the whole spice seeds a bit with a mortar and pestle. Oh! and I used cannelini beans (again, on hand). Definite repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
This is pretty tasty. If I make it again, I will use butter, not canola oil, as I think the dish will have a better flavor and mouth feel. I didn't have some of the spices, so I used Madras brand curry powder in addition to the ones I had, as it has them all. Next time I think I'll just use the powder alone. I also crushed/mixed all the spices in my mortar & pestle to get them to blend better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This was a great, easy side dish. I would reduce the salt to 3/4 tsp next time, but I don't feel the saltiness ruined the dish this time. It was great served with an indian-spiced ground beef skillet dish served with peas and brown rice. An easy, healthy supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
This was good, though I have to say I didn't have all the spices. I added what I had then added some extra hot curry powder. I picked this recipe because I had some extra cabbage left over. It's a great use for that, but I don't think I'll buy the ingredients just for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly except that I used a cauliflower instead of a cabbage. I love Indian food, but there was at least one spice in there that I didn't like the flavor of. Honestly, I am not sure which spice it was because I have never cooked with many of the spices in the recipe before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
A wonderful dish that won rave reviews from our guests! I served it as a side with salmon in coconut milk and naan, but this superb dish offers rich and complex flavors, and deserves to be an entree on its own -- perhaps with saffron rice; or add vegetable broth to make a savory stew. Advice to cooks: If some exotic spices are hard to find, try hard to find at least the fennel seeds and especially the cardamom pods (or seeds -- but NOT ground cardamom). One of the best discoveries I've made on AllRecipes.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This was absolutely amazing! I was a bit skeptical of a couple of the ingredients - namely the caraway seeds - but it all worked really well. The only changes I made were to use ghee instead of oil, jalapeno instead of serrano, and I omitted the asafoetida powder as I can't find it anywhere. I ended up adding a few more cardamon pods (some black, some green) just because I love the flavor. I made it with kidney beans as I love the color, and prefer the texture over the other suggested beans. Thanks so much, Kay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I enjoyed this one quite a bit! I was actually looking for a recipe to use up some cabbage and fennel seeds, so I almost passed this one by as I did not have some of the other ingredients. I did not have fenugreek seeds or asafoetida powder, and used ground cumin and coriander instead of the seeds/pods, and yellow ground mustard instead of black mustard seeds. Of course, not exactly the same recipe, but still a delicious alternative to the average fried cabbage recipes. I opted for the kidney beans which made this a really pretty dish - the green/white cabbage, a bit of yellow from the spices and deep red beans. Looking forward to picking up the missing spices and making this one as stated some time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States