Excellent Venison Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2001
Very tasty,easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Very good soup. Thanks for the recipe. My husband got his first deer in quite a few years this Fall and this is the first recipe that I have tried to use it up. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Excellent soup! I shared the soup with my 2 neighbors, and they said this is the the best soup (bar none) that they have ever had before! Great fall/winter dish in Northern Minnesota. I followed everyone's suggestion. I used 1 pound ground venison and 1 pound Italian sausage. I added 3 cloves of freshly pressed GARLIC, a pinch of PARSLEY FLAKES and a pinch of BASIL FLAKES. I also used FRESH TOMATOES instead of canned tomatoes. I doubled the WATER and BEEF BOUILLON CUBE. I also added a few RED PEPPER FLAKES in the soup to give it a little kick. My kids loved it and they're very picky. My husband was raving about it to our neighbors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAKES CORNER by WILILYN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Awesome soup. I have made this soup many times. At times I have substituted vegetables with others I already have in the house. It always turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This is a great recipe, but if you want to make a truly "excellent" venison soup try making it with venison mixed with hot italian sausage. It's simply awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Great soup if you have a freezer full of elk! I'm not huge on wild game meat, but my husband stocks the freezer every winter. I must say that this does come together very well. I even went back for seconds. I didn't have rutabaga or parsnip on hand, so I left it out. Didn't have the canned tomatoes either so I used the three fresh tomatoes I had and 2 cans of V8 juice. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Can_It_Rachael
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This is really tasty! I didn't have ground venison thawed out so I used cubed venison round steak. I had a part of a bag of peas so I tossed those in . This is one of those delicious recipes that you will want to make often. Great comfort food! No leftovers here because we ate it too fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Can_It_Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2001
This was very good. I accidently bought a turnip instead of the rutabaga :) but my entire family thought it was terrific and had seconds and even thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
Usually we just make chilli with ground venison so I was glad to see a new recipe I haven't seen before. This was perfect for fall! It is excellent and we all loved it! The only thing we did differently was add some garlic. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
Definitely different from your normal venison recipes. Unique combination of flavors. Very good recipe that got better each day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallace, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Cheraw, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States