Excellent Shrimp Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
REVISED REVEIW Go Saints! Yes I'm from Nawlins myself and this is a good recipe except this way too much roux.That's the amount I use to cook a gumbo for 8-10 people!Try 1/4 that amount and brown it to a light tan color or even darker. Otherwise the end result will be way too floury and thick. I like to used chopped fresh tomatoes, especially in summer. I also add a little dry white wine. If you don't use Cajun seasonings add salt, black and red pepper to taste.PLUS chopped fresh basil and 1/2-1 tsp thymne. Adjust seasonings to taste after the ingredients have a chance to marry. Put your favorite Cajun Hot Sauce on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2001
i served this at a dinner party, people either raved or didnt like it. not because it wasnt good but because it was to spicey for the taste buds. As a person who loves spicy food i gave two thumbs up!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
Wow! Sooooooo yummy! I didn't have 3 pounds of shrimp so I added some chicken breast also... It made so much we ate it all week! And believe me, it was so good I didn't mind one bit ;) I will make this a regular meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I love to look for different recipes and this was a big hit, even the leftovers. I substituted cajun seasoning for the salt and chili powder and used only half the tomato paste. I had so much sauce that I refrigerated half of it and made a chicken, sausage and okra gumbo with it a few days later. Just as tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RYSWISKGAL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I cut the oil and floup in half. I used two pounds of shrimp and I thought that was plenty. I would add the chili powder and some spice while it is cooking instead of at the end. Overall I liked this recipe and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
lousy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2002
Came out great loved it.. will have it again soon.. thank you Ken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
Great recipe. I used it for a Mardi Gras celebration at church and it was a hit. Served 80-90 people. Very easy and fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
this really is excellent!!! i also cut down the roux to about half. i think it makes a lot more than 6 servings though. my husband and i have been enjoying for the past 2 nights, each night having seconds and there's still more for tonight! will be making this quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
This recipe is absolutely delicous and very easy to make. It smells wonderful while cooking, I now take it to parties and it is always gone! My children even love it. We are Louisiana natives and we say thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States