Excellent Shrimp Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I love to look for different recipes and this was a big hit, even the leftovers. I substituted cajun seasoning for the salt and chili powder and used only half the tomato paste. I had so much sauce that I refrigerated half of it and made a chicken, sausage and okra gumbo with it a few days later. Just as tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RYSWISKGAL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
it was good it had too much of a tomato flavor for me and was a bit salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crl's mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Braithwaite, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
It was excellent. A lot like my mom used to make. Served over white rice as my last hurrah before starting low carb diet. Added a little Frank's hot sauce on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
I really liked this recipe,but the tomoato paste made it a little sweet for me. I also used white wine and Knorr chicken broth powder and it made this great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Buena Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
I made this for someone else...as I absolutely detest seafood...BUT this person LOVED it! I used melted butter for the roux instead of oil, figured it would make it more flavorful. Used 2 kinds of pepper, paprika and tobasco sauce (my friend likes it HOT), didn't have any celery. Had to use lots of water in order for it to not come out pasty. Used frozen shrimp, worked out nicely. I cooked them a bit in some olive oil and garlic paste before transferring them to the main pot. Makes a LOT of stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
This recipe is absolutely delicous and very easy to make. It smells wonderful while cooking, I now take it to parties and it is always gone! My children even love it. We are Louisiana natives and we say thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
I reduced the servings and still had way too much sauce. Otherwise, this was quite tasty, but I may keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
First, I found that it was a huge amount of roux so the liquids needed to be increased dramatically. I added a can of tomato sauce, a bit of sugar and probably about 4 cups of shrimp stock I had in the freezer. I didn't use the rotel tomatoes because I have small kids who don't appreciate spicy stuff so I added basil and thyme along with a can of whole tomatoes (squished). But cayenne to taste at the table is the remedy. One thing I like to do with the shrimp shells and leftover veggie scraps (onion skin, garlic skin, bell pepper ends, etc) is to throw them all in a stock pot with water and cook to make the above shrimp stock. Salt to taste or else it tastes like dishwater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
This just tastes too good to be healthy. It's even worth the prep time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
I have cooked this recipe several times. It is excellent. I add a little Tobasco for our taste. It is great reheated also and even better the second or third day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States